The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 19, 2013, 07:29 PM   #1
Hundy

RCBS Vibratory Case Cleaner

I bought a RCBS Vibratory Case Cleaner about a month ago. Still have not been able to use it. This is due the fact I cannot find RCBS Formula 2 Corn Cob media. I have been checking my local stores about 3 times a week and I check my online sites, so far nothing.
I was curious if anyone has the RCBS Vibratory cleaner and if anyone has used other media in it and what the results were?
I am new to cleaning cases this way, I was also wondering if anyone adds any product in with the media?
I have been able to find Lyman brand media, just wanted to know if anyone has used it and results.

Thank you

Jay
Old April 19, 2013, 08:40 PM   #2
Lemmon

Harbor Freight walnut media

Welcome to the Firing Life Forum.... If you have a Harbor Freight nearby then buy some of their walnut media. This will clean your brass. MidwayUSA sells Frankford Arsenal Brass Case Polish which also works great for me. The secret of using this case polish is to run your RCBS Vibratory Case Cleaner with the dry Walnut media and pour the case polish in as DIRECTED in the instruction. Let it run until the case polish has been absorbed in the Walnut Media. 20 minutes or more then place the brass in and let it cook. An hour or so later you will be happy with the results.

Lemmon from Rural South Carolina.
Old April 19, 2013, 08:47 PM   #3
jag2

It doesn't matter what you use. Walnut or corn cob (treated or untreated) or something called lizard litter that many get from a pet store or walmart. They all work so try what you want and find what works best for you and that you get easily.
Old April 19, 2013, 09:15 PM   #4
Misssissippi Dave