The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 8, 2007, 01:57 PM   #1
shepheard

how to set bullet depth

I am new to the world of reloading,in fact so new all I have done so far is extensive readind of various manuals and talk forums. It is my understanding that a 7mm mag should be crimped.If so how would you be able to customize seating depths to be x distance from the lands.My hornady manuel has a trim lenght of 2.490. Bullets have a cannelure at a set spot,wouldn't that dictate the distance of ogive to lands.Your input is greatly apreciated.
Old April 8, 2007, 02:08 PM   #2
Jim Watson

I don't crimp rifle bullets except for tubular magazine lever actions. From what do you understand a 7mm magnum should be crimped?

I try to avoid cannelured rifle bullets because I do not see how they can apply it without hurting accuracy.

I seat Sierra Matchkings for a short jump to the rifling, I seat JLK or Berger VLDs into the rifling, I seat hunting bullets to magazine length, checked to be sure they are off the rifling.
Old April 8, 2007, 02:23 PM   #3
williamd

I seat 1 die turn from the lands, or about 1/14". Do this by inserting a bullet in to an empty case. Insert cartridge into rifle and slowly close the bolt, then slowly extract. The bullet has been pushed into the case by touching the lands. Put this into you press, turn the seating die down until it touches, remove the cartridge and turn the die one full turn. Has worked very well for accuracy. Yes, have to check that your magazine can handle them.

Am with Jim W .. I never crimp except for tubular mag rifles either.

Have not noticed any decrease in accuracy shooting bullets with a cannelure. But, agree there has to some effect ... probably not enough to affect anyone except, perhaps, the benchrest, long range shooter. Would be interested in other input on this.
Old April 8, 2007, 09:19 PM   #4
amamnn