The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 31, 2001, 07:05 PM   #1
branrot
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 11, 1999
Location: Miami Beach, FL, USA
Posts: 1,367
Bought Tumbler and Separator. What do I do?

So I bought the Dillon CV-500 and CM-500 (that's the small cartridge case cleaner and case/media separator). I also picked up a box full of Lyman corn cob media. I've got a bunch of dirty brass sitting in boxes in my closet. Now what?

I assume that I mix some media and cases (how much?) in the case cleaner and let it run (how long?). Then dump what's left into the separator and give it a few spins (how many?). I assume that I can reuse the corn cob media (how many times?). Any other words of wisdom would be appreciated as well.
branrot is offline  
Old October 31, 2001, 07:17 PM   #2
Redneck2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 24, 2000
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 519
Instructions with my RCBS told how many cases it would hold..about 200 pistol in my case.

How long?? Keep checking...you'll see when they're clean. The newer the media the faster it works. If it's a vibrator, maybe an hour or two. I've heard tumblers take longer.

I've cleaned maybe 1,000-1,500 cases with my corncob and haven't changed yet, but I'm thinkin' it's close. Takes longer with each cleaning. Be careful not to breathe the dust..has lots of lead from primers.
Redneck2 is offline  
Old October 31, 2001, 09:19 PM   #3
maxwayne
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 10, 2001
Posts: 401
I think that many people dont tumble long enough. I almost always go for overnite. Fill the bowl about 1/3 to 1/2 full of cases and cover with media.
maxwayne is offline  
Old November 1, 2001, 08:19 AM   #4
muzzletalk
Member
 
Join Date: January 3, 2001
Posts: 85
I agree with branrot... I let my cases go for a while. Make sure when you put your brass in the tumbler that the brass has room to move.. I have seen a couple of times that people have added so much brass that the tumbler couldnt move the brass around. When choosing a polishing compound, make sure its non amonia based.. From what I have always read, amonia will weaken the brass..
__________________
DVCE
dilegentia,vis,celeritas,eruditio
accuracy,power,speed,knowledge
muzzletalk is offline  
Old November 1, 2001, 10:53 AM   #5
Bottom Gun
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 13, 1998
Location: Elgin, Arizona
Posts: 871
Don't forget to add case polish to the media. Start off with the recommended dose. After a few loads your media will absorb the polish and you can cut down on the amount of polish you add.
I use Dillon's polish.
My cases are normally bright and shiny in an hour to an hour and a half, depending upon how nasty they are.
Bottom Gun is offline  
Old November 2, 2001, 07:34 AM   #6
Station 18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: November 1, 2001
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 2
Do you need to use the polish? Or is it just purely cosmetic?
Station 18 is offline  
Old November 2, 2001, 07:48 AM   #7
parachuterigger
Member
 
Join Date: May 17, 2001
Location: Richmond, IN
Posts: 27
For the first fill, don't fill the bowl completely. I keep mine a couple of inches below the edge. You have to leave room for the volume of the cases or the media will tumble over the edge when you fill it. I usually start the tumbler and add the cases while it is running then cover it and let it go for around an hour or so. You don't have to use the polish, but it makes the cases look nice. The separator really does a nice job, just dont breathe in the dust that comes from it when you pour the contents of the tumbler into it.
__________________
"Son, you just might get that fancy gun out of that fancy holster before a fella with an ol' fashioned sixgun blew a hole in ya."-John Wayne "Big Jake"
parachuterigger is offline  
Old November 2, 2001, 10:16 AM   #8
Jeeper
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 1, 2001
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 776
You dont need to add case polish until your media is dirty. It will cut down on the ammount of dust when the media is new also. Dont add to much or it wont work as well. Only add it to media by itself or you could get globs of it inside some cases. Let the media run for a few minutes after you add it and then add the brass.
Jeeper is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07334 seconds with 9 queries