The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 27, 2013, 08:53 PM   #1
Crankgrinder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 24, 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 758
free float ar/bipod/sling

Hey folks, Just got in the ar game and what I wound up with is a 20" heavy barrel with free float tube and picatinny gas block on a flattop upper. My problem is I need a bipod and if possible a sling mount as well. Free float tube makes that just alittle more challenging considering the drilling and tapping involved. I was thinking about a harris #5 mount but then there are bolt on rail mounts as well. What do you guys think is the best way to go about it?
Crankgrinder is offline  
Old October 28, 2013, 08:37 AM   #2
1DrnkMxR
Member
 
Join Date: July 11, 2012
Location: CinSity,NV
Posts: 86
I'm a little confused about the drilling & tapping
1DrnkMxR is offline  
Old October 28, 2013, 04:35 PM   #3
arizona98tj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 10, 2007
Location: Arizona
Posts: 975
I believe the OP has the round tube type handguard and not a picatinny rail handguard. At least, that is what makes sense to me based on his comments. I could be wrong.
__________________
stu-offroad.com
Largest Jeep TJ project site on the web!
(now with guns)
arizona98tj is offline  
Old October 28, 2013, 09:51 PM   #4
Crankgrinder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 24, 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 758
yes it is a free float tube, and it requires drilling a hole(s) in to screw mounting studs/bolt rails onto. What im interested in are some ideas as to what might be most functional, and whats just plain goofy. We all know theres lots of junk on the market to be had, and some of it even is overpriced junk. I would like to hear from other peoples experiences in mounting these accessories to one with a free float tube so I don't spend the money on the wrong junk or possibly mess up a forend for no good reason.
Crankgrinder is offline  
Old October 29, 2013, 08:38 PM   #5
Rusty W
Member
 
Join Date: January 27, 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 84
I'm having the same problem. I put an AR together from parts I had purchased a little at a time. I have an A2 stock and no where to put a sling on the front end. I'm shopping for a quad gas tube but haven't found one to my liking yet.
Here's the upper I purchased.
http://shop.redxarms.com/16-RXA15-BU...PPER-31125.htm
Rusty W is offline  
Old October 30, 2013, 07:06 PM   #6
MarkCO
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 21, 1998
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 765
Looking for QD on the sling, 2 point? Drill a hole where you want to mount something. There are rail kits from MagPul, Nordic, Noveske and others to let you mount rails with just properly spaced holes in the handguard. Some have thread locker on the threads with basically T nut on the inside. They are elongated so they won't rotate. Then again, you can buy a machine thread sling stud and get a T nut and nylon washer from ACE for a grand total of about $5/unit.

Or, save all the hassle and just buy a Hogue Cuff
__________________
Good Shooting, MarkCO
www.CarbonArms.us
MarkCO is offline  
Old October 30, 2013, 08:40 PM   #7
burrhead
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 6, 1999
Location: Chihuahuan desert, Texas
Posts: 432
This may work for you.

http://www.brownells.com/shooting-ac...prod41593.aspx
__________________
Join the NRA and TSRA

The older I get the better I was.
burrhead is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06842 seconds with 9 queries