The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 29, 2013, 07:55 PM   #1
magspop
Junior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2013
Posts: 7
scope for Henry 30-30

I just bought a Henry 30-30 and want to put a scope on it, I see the receiver is pre drilled and tapped with 4 holes. But never having done this befor I don't know what to mount the scope on. I read one article about a weaver mount for scopes but don't know what that is either. Can anybody give me some help?
magspop is offline  
Old March 29, 2013, 07:59 PM   #2
fatwhiteboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 3, 2011
Posts: 303
I'd use a fixed power 4X Weaver. It isn't a long range shooter, 4X is plenty. It's what I have on my Savage M340 and it works great.
__________________
Fat White
So Cal
fatwhiteboy is offline  
Old March 29, 2013, 08:11 PM   #3
magspop
Junior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks Fatwhiteboy, but what I am asking is how does it mount?
magspop is offline  
Old March 30, 2013, 07:41 AM   #4
Jack O'Conner
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 11, 2005
Location: Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,481
According to Henry customer service, their 30-30 rifles accept the standard Marlin 336 bases and rings.

Jack
__________________
Fire up the grill! Deer hunting IS NOT catch and release.
Jack O'Conner is offline  
Old March 30, 2013, 09:25 AM   #5
madcratebuilder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 2, 2007
Location: Northern Orygun
Posts: 4,868
The old Weaver steel tube K2.5 is what I use on 30-30 lever guns.
madcratebuilder is offline  
Old March 30, 2013, 07:16 PM   #6
magspop
Junior Member
 
Join Date: February 9, 2013
Posts: 7
thanks for the info guys. I did some research and found out I can use a Weaver 63b base. thanks again.
magspop is offline  
Old March 30, 2013, 07:39 PM   #7
SteelChickenShooter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 12, 2011
Posts: 859
Cannot say about the Henry since the one I bought does not have a scope. But my Marlin 336 did have an issue with the length of one screw ( I recall ) might have been the rear hole. I had a screw installed that dragged against the action blocking the cocking lever to fully operate. So when you install your base screws make sure the action functions.
SteelChickenShooter is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07594 seconds with 9 queries