The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 17, 2013, 11:36 AM   #1
My Toy
Join Date: August 8, 2008
Posts: 45
Berry's plated bullets in Glocks

I know Glock warns against firing lead bullets in their pistols; I believe it has to do with the type of rifling found in Glock barrels. Is it OK to fire plated lead bullets (like Berry's) in Glocks. I'm just about out of my Winchester FMJs in 9mm and 45 but I have some Berry's plated. Thanks.
My Toy is offline  
Old March 17, 2013, 12:10 PM   #2
the jigger
Join Date: May 26, 2012
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 65
Berry's in Glocks?

I had a Glock 21 and a 23 that shot Berry's without issues for over five years.
That said remember to reduce your FMJ loads.
If you're gonna get old you better be tough;Gettin' old ain't for sissies!!
the jigger is offline  
Old March 17, 2013, 12:30 PM   #3
Junior member
Join Date: December 20, 2012
Location: The "Gunshine State"
Posts: 1,981
Been shooting plated bullets in my 2 9mm Glocks for about 15 years now - no issues, clean up easily
BigD_in_FL is offline  
Old March 17, 2013, 12:40 PM   #4
serf 'rett
Senior Member
Join Date: June 25, 2009
Location: Stuttgart, AR
Posts: 1,550
I don't own a Glock, but I do shoot Berry's Bullets in my 9mm Kahr P9 and 40S&W Baby Eagle; both of which have a polygonal barrel. I've not seen lead build up from plated bullets.

Some folks replace the polygonal barrel in their Glock with a grooved or rifled barrel, allowing them to shoot lead.
A lack of planning on your part does not necessarily constitute an emergency on my part.
serf 'rett is offline  
Old March 17, 2013, 12:48 PM   #5
Senior Member
Join Date: November 6, 2011
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 876
I've been using them in my Glocks in 45 and 9mm. I just load them with the jacketed bullet loads. I love 'em!.
arch308 is offline  
Old March 17, 2013, 12:58 PM   #6
chris in va
Senior Member
Join Date: December 26, 2004
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 13,120
Bare lead can be used in the factory 45 barrel without issues. I speak from experience, and others will tell you the same thing.
chris in va is offline  
Old March 17, 2013, 02:48 PM   #7
My Toy
Join Date: August 8, 2008
Posts: 45
Thanks for all the info; looks like I can keep running.
My Toy is offline  

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2015 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent:
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07249 seconds with 9 queries