The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 28, 2013, 05:17 PM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: October 4, 2004
Posts: 450
12 gauge sabot reloading

I have a 12 gauge pump because some places I go require a shotgun. I have a rifled barrel that shoots sabots very well but they are sort of expensive. Can they can reloaded and what is the quality of the reload- equal to commercial loads? Any good load data?
davem is offline  
Old February 28, 2013, 08:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
Join Date: September 28, 2008
Posts: 7,126
Sure you can, and you have our permission, too.
Lots of web info on it, like this:
Lock the doors, they're coming in the windows.
g.willikers is offline  
Old March 2, 2013, 07:37 AM   #3
Senior Member
Join Date: July 1, 2001
Posts: 2,690
I have reloaded the Lyman slug in a WAA12 wad with SR4759, Win 209's all into a 3" Win compression formed case. Groups at 50 for 5 shots were a ragged hole and a flyer about 1" away. Rest was my elbows on a table.

When I get my cases, I'll dial this in with a better rest and also some 100 yd shooting.

IMO, this is pretty equivalent to the Fusion load I buy, but the shells load easier in the gun.
Nathan is offline  

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2015 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent:
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.05873 seconds with 9 queries