The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 3, 2012, 08:39 AM   #1
LOUD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 231
A question on procedure

I was just wondering. Ever since I started reloading rifle ammunition, I have always dropped the powder charge, weighed it, and trickled up to within 1/10th of my targeted load weight. How many of you are this anal and how many just check a few in the beginning and maybe every tenth one or so? I know that in some way, this will have to do with the accuracy of your powder measure. I was just wondering. ...........LOUD
LOUD is offline  
Old July 3, 2012, 08:55 AM   #2
Jim Watson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 25, 2001
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,089
It depends on the application.

For casual shooting or moderate range hunting, a regular rotary powder measure is plenty accurate.

For target shooting, I short dump and trickle my black powder, PACT electric dispenser weigh my smokeless.

Or you can go the benchrest ultra precision rotary powder measure. And learn ultra precision measure technique to get the best out of it.
Jim Watson is offline  
Old July 3, 2012, 09:05 AM   #3
LOUD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 231
I would do a poll but not that computer savy, drop and load vs weigh and trickle ?
LOUD is offline  
Old July 3, 2012, 10:18 AM   #4
CrustyFN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 4, 2006
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 2,258
I don't trickle. The only rilfe I load for is 223 and I load a bunch so I check a few in the beginning to make sure the powder measure is good and then go into mass production.
__________________
I don't ever remember being absent minded.
CrustyFN is offline  
Old July 3, 2012, 10:32 AM   #5
dahermit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 28, 2006
Location: South Central Michigan...near Ohio, Indiana.
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
"...and trickled up to within 1/10th of my targeted load weight..."
Why? Why not to the exact load weight if you are trickling onto a scale pan?
For target, varmint shooting purposes, I weigh all loads, load them on a single-stage press, although I only test the handgun loads (most of my shooting), as set-up on my Dillon 550B.
__________________
Sometimes you get what you pay for, sometimes you only pay more for what you get.
Three shots are not a "group"...they are a "few".

If the Bible is the literal, infallible, unerring word of God...where are all those witches I am supposed to kill?
dahermit is offline  
Old July 3, 2012, 10:52 AM   #6
Brian Pfleuger
Staff
 
Join Date: June 25, 2008
Location: Central, Southern NY, USA
Posts: 18,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahermit View Post
Why? Why not to the exact load weight if you are trickling onto a scale pan?
For target, varmint shooting purposes, I weigh all loads, load them on a single-stage press, although I only test the handgun loads (most of my shooting), as set-up on my Dillon 550B.
I believe you're misunderstanding... "within 1/10th" is as close as most scales get.

There's no such thing as "exact". You don't load exact weight. In all likelihood, you also weigh "within 1/10th" because that's smallest significant digit on your scale.

Even if you measure .01gr, it's not "exact" because you could measure .001, which also isn't "exact" because it could be .0001.... and on and on until you can't spend enough money to get a better scale... and you're still not "exact".
Brian Pfleuger is offline  
Old July 3, 2012, 11:19 AM   #7
sc928porsche
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2008
Location: now living in alabama
Posts: 2,433
For loading rifle, I weigh and trickle every charge on my O frames. For Pistol, I check every 5th round on my progressives.
__________________
No such thing as a stupid question. What is stupid is not asking it.
sc928porsche is offline  
Old July 3, 2012, 06:19 PM   #8
David Bachelder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 23, 2011
Location: Trinity, Texas
Posts: 632
I used to drop and trickle. Now I enter the desired weight and the RCBS Chargemaster 1500 does the rest.

Perfectly ...... each and every time.

I load the .243 and the 30-06 rifle. I target shoot and hunt with the exact same bullet, powder and weight. Nothing changes. I spent a lot of time developing my load data and I use it.
__________________
David Bachelder
Trinity, Texas
I load, 9mm Luger, 38 and 40 S&W, 38 Special, 357Magnum, 45ACP, 45 Colt, 223, 300 AAC, 243 and 30-06
David Bachelder is offline  
Old July 3, 2012, 06:40 PM   #9
CherokeeT
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 23, 2008
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 264
I use a powder measue for all rifle and pistol loads. I'm not trying to win a benchrest match or doing 1000 yd shoots. I set the measure using 10 charges, check it again and then goooo.....
__________________
God Bless America
US Army, NRA Endowment
TSRA Life, SASS
CherokeeT is offline  
Old July 3, 2012, 06:52 PM   #10
603Country
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 6, 2011
Location: Thornton, Texas
Posts: 2,264
I'm with David B. I LUUUUV my new powder measure toy. I've still got a powder trickler....somewhere....
603Country is offline  
Old July 3, 2012, 08:22 PM   #11
Kevin Rohrer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 19, 2010
Location: Medina, Ohio
Posts: 507
For most shooting, my measure does just fine. For varmint work, I tend to trickle up.
__________________
Member: Orange Gunsite Family, NRA--Life, Varmint Hunters' Assn., ARTCA, American Legion, & South Cuyahoga Sportsmen's Assn.

"Gunnery, gunnery, gunnery...all else is twaddle!" --Admiral Sir John Fisher, RN
Kevin Rohrer is offline  
Old July 3, 2012, 09:11 PM   #12
hk33ka1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 20, 2010
Posts: 275
If I am feeling fussy I do each one in the scale. If not I set up the RCBS, Lyman or Lee powder measures and throw right into the case checking one in the scale now and then. RCBS Chargemaster combo has been on my list for a while now.
hk33ka1 is offline  
Old July 4, 2012, 01:02 AM   #13
medalguy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 31, 2009
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,017
I use a trickler when doing ladder tests. Once I find a good load that does what I want, I set my powder measure and check about ten loads, start loading, and check every tenth load for about a hundred rounds, then I usually don't bother checking it again until maybe 500 rounds. Works fine for me.
medalguy is offline  
Old July 4, 2012, 02:48 AM   #14
10-96
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 19, 2005
Location: Tx Panhandle Territory
Posts: 3,216
I'm a trickler on everything- even for Trail Boss. Why? Because I personally feel that's a safety step- and I just wont take any shortcuts on anything I feel is a safety measure/step.
__________________
Rednecks... Keeping the woods critter-free since March 2, 1836. (TX Independence Day)

I'm going to use the words "clip" and "Long Colt" every chance I get. It grinds my gears to see new members attacked when we all know dang good and well what's being refered to.
10-96 is offline  
Old July 4, 2012, 07:22 AM   #15
30Cal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 3, 2002
Posts: 1,101
I avoid trickling like the plague. Sometimes I'll do it for my 600yd load, but just as often I don't. It takes gobs of time and I haven't seen any evidence on my targets that it matters.

I flat out refuse to trickle for short line work (300yds and less) since I have no difficulty finding a load that will hold well within the X-ring simply by cranking away on the blue lever.

I do all my load confirmation with worst case parameters (I intentionally add in powder charge variation and use the worst brass I have). That way I know exactly what the worst performance I can expect is. And since it's still adequate enough to win any match out there, I don't have to sweat the small, time consuming stuff.

I've never heard of anyone else doing this but it makes perfect sense to me.

Last edited by 30Cal; July 4, 2012 at 07:30 AM.
30Cal is offline  
Old July 4, 2012, 08:07 AM   #16
Uncle Buck
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 21, 2009
Location: West Central Missouri
Posts: 2,561
If it is a load that I have used before (and I have discovered that most of my favorite/accurate loads are no where near maximum) and really like, I set my powder measure and weigh every tenth.

If it is a new load, or something has changed, I usually get a little more .... Well, I have been known to trickle a bit.
__________________
Inside Every Bright Idea Is The 50% Probability Of A Disaster Waiting To Happen.
Uncle Buck is offline  
Old July 4, 2012, 09:13 AM   #17
bbqncigars
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 1, 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 260
I'll check every tenth throw from my rotary measures. The B&M doesn't need the attention. All rounds get the hairy eyeball when they're in the loading block. Good lighting is a must.
__________________
"Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most." A. Brilliant
bbqncigars is offline  
Old July 4, 2012, 10:39 AM   #18
.45 Vet
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 21, 2004
Location: Western Penn.
Posts: 370
I trickle all my hunting/target loads for rifle. Everything else get checked at random, 1>10 or 1>20 on the progressive.
__________________
For those who've never fought for it, the price of freedom shall never be known...
.45 Vet is offline  
Old July 4, 2012, 12:56 PM   #19
hooligan1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 18, 2010
Location: Independence Missouri
Posts: 3,299
I trickle every load that I weigh, using an RCBS powder trickler and a 5.0.5. scale, That's the one thing that I can't ever do differently, I can't bring myself to be satisfied with anything other than absolute perfect weight.
I know that everybodies scales will read differently, to an extent, but I use the very same scale and Uniflow since the late eighties, and I damn sure ain't screwing with it now,,,, And that unflow can throw some inconsistant weights, so I always set it up low and trickle to desired weight EVERY round.
__________________
Thanks for coming!

Last edited by hooligan1; July 5, 2012 at 07:53 AM.
hooligan1 is offline  
Old July 4, 2012, 07:42 PM   #20
William T. Watts
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 20, 2010
Location: Central Arkansas
Posts: 766
+ 1 for hooligan1

Ditto, 505 and RCBS trickler. William
William T. Watts is offline  
Old July 4, 2012, 08:52 PM   #21
Edward429451
Junior member
 
Join Date: November 12, 2000
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 9,494
I use a trickler sometimes. (I filled the bottom with lead so its stable). It depends on what powder I am using or how close to max I am. Stick powders all get trickled, ball powders don't. Even if things are running smoothly I weigh every tenth round. I use a Uniflow and 5-0-5 since the 80s also. I did have to actually replace my 5-0-5 that I had used since the 80s. It somehow did not make my last move so I lost it.
Edward429451 is offline  
Old July 5, 2012, 11:21 AM   #22
oneoldsap
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 16, 2009
Location: I live in the foot of the Green Mountains of Vermont
Posts: 1,585
I drop a charge within .3 to.4 of what I want , then trickle to exact charge . If there's a 1/10th error in the scale , I don't want to compound it by settling for a charge within 1/10th grain of what I'm looking for in my scale reading ! The only time I do anthing different is when I'm loading pistol rounds with my RCBS Little Dandy , just drop and go .
oneoldsap is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.11954 seconds with 9 queries