The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old May 9, 2012, 09:35 PM   #1
mnhntr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 9, 2008
Posts: 972
problems with bullseye metering

Anyone use Bullseye in a RCBS Uniflow with micrometer? I normally use A#5 for my 45acp loads but had a pound of Bullseye on hand and decided to try it. The A#5 meters better for me. The Bullseye was anywhere from 0.05-0.15 difference in each load.
mnhntr is offline  
Old May 9, 2012, 09:57 PM   #2
Para Cassatt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 16, 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 117
I'm using the small micro adjustment screw (part # 98902) and it doesn't seem to vary that much as I recall.
__________________
Have you taken someone shooting lately?
Para Cassatt is offline  
Old May 9, 2012, 10:18 PM   #3
mnhntr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 9, 2008
Posts: 972
That is the one i have also
mnhntr is offline  
Old May 9, 2012, 11:16 PM   #4
bmjp
Member
 
Join Date: April 29, 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 27
I had same issues with bullseye. I switched to AutoComp and HP-38. They both metered better for me. Bullseye is a great powder I just couldn't get it to meter well at all for me.
__________________
NRA
US ARMY Veteran
CCFSA
bmjp is offline  
Old May 10, 2012, 06:06 AM   #5
PA-Joe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 9, 2010
Location: NEPA
Posts: 719
Double tap that handle up and down.
PA-Joe is offline  
Old May 10, 2012, 07:17 AM   #6
rebs
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 10, 2012
Posts: 2,195
Thats what I do, double tap and no problems with bullseye at all. I am using a rcbs power dump using a digital scale to set it up and checking every 5th load.
I love bullseye and also unique
rebs is offline  
Old May 10, 2012, 08:46 AM   #7
Jim Watson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 25, 2001
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10,911
I had a lot of trouble with Bullseye when I first started reloading for pistols years ago. It would get in the gap of the "pistol chamber" on my Redding No 3 and bind. I went to other powders like 700x and 231 for a long time.
But I wanted some light loads and Bullseye is very good for that.
As I have my Dillon set now, it meters - 0, +0.1; reading either 3.5 or 3.6 grains when I check a load. That is plenty close enough. My scale does not even read down to the .05 grain level so a variation of .05 to .15 would show up as 0 to 0.1. Which is what I am actually seeing.

Motor on, you are doing fine.
Jim Watson is offline  
Old May 10, 2012, 09:51 AM   #8
mnhntr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 9, 2008
Posts: 972
thanks for the replies
mnhntr is offline  
Old May 11, 2012, 05:54 AM   #9
PA-Joe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 9, 2010
Location: NEPA
Posts: 719
Also make certain that you have the pistol rotor! The larger diameter rifle rotor will not give you good drops below 10 grains.
PA-Joe is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07233 seconds with 9 queries