The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 19, 2012, 11:00 AM   #1
Domino
Member
 
Join Date: August 15, 2006
Posts: 60
Lee turret bolt/nut question.

I have a friend that just called me and he bought a Lee turret and while it did come with the bolts to bolt it to his table it didn't come with the washer/nuts to secure it. He called me to ask what size nuts he needs to get, can someone with access to one let me know what size nuts he needs to buy. I do have one at home next to my 550B but I'm at work so obviously can't find out for him. Thanks.
Domino is offline  
Old April 19, 2012, 11:16 AM   #2
joshf128
Member
 
Join Date: February 19, 2012
Posts: 51
The manual says 1/4 or 5/16 for the BOLT size. I used a 1/2 inch hex head heavy duty wood screws I had to mount my Classic Turret. As long as it fits the homes and you tighten it down it should be good.

Sent from my PC36100 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk
joshf128 is offline  
Old April 19, 2012, 11:25 AM   #3
markr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 23, 2008
Location: Arsenal of Democracy
Posts: 395
Take one bolt to the hardware store and peruse the nut and bolt aisle?
__________________
I like to make beer, bullets, and jerky.....but not at the same time.

Washed up 11B1P
markr is offline  
Old April 19, 2012, 11:28 AM   #4
Domino
Member
 
Join Date: August 15, 2006
Posts: 60
Quote:
Take one bolt to the hardware store and peruse the nut and bolt aisle?
That's what I told him but he still wanted me to ask.
Domino is offline  
Old April 19, 2012, 03:05 PM   #5
serf 'rett
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 25, 2009
Location: Stuttgart
Posts: 1,306
Afraid I'm with markr on this one. Take the bolt to the hardware store to make sure the nuts are right or he may discover that neat thing called thread count is as important as bolt diameter. And Lord help you if the furnished bolts are metric (not likely).

Sheesh, I'm guessing the friend is a young thing, because we old curmudgeons know these sorts of things.
__________________
A lack of planning on your part does not necessarily constitute an emergency on my part.

Last edited by serf 'rett; April 19, 2012 at 03:11 PM.
serf 'rett is offline  
Old April 19, 2012, 03:54 PM   #6
Taroman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 15, 2010
Posts: 128
Hope he gets some solid reloading instruction.
__________________
-jwk-

Si vis pacem, para bellum
Taroman is offline  
Old April 19, 2012, 04:08 PM   #7
Domino
Member
 
Join Date: August 15, 2006
Posts: 60
Quote:
Hope he gets some solid reloading instruction.
I've already started showing him how I reload which is what made him want to reload also. Sounds like he did just take one of the bolts to HD to find a match.
Domino is offline  
Old April 19, 2012, 06:05 PM   #8
dacaur
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 16, 2010
Posts: 733
The ones that came with my deluxe turret were too short for my application, I just replaced them with some 1/4-20 nuts and bolts....
dacaur is offline  
Old April 19, 2012, 07:44 PM   #9
markr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 23, 2008
Location: Arsenal of Democracy
Posts: 395
Hey, I'm not old!!!!
__________________
I like to make beer, bullets, and jerky.....but not at the same time.

Washed up 11B1P
markr is offline  
Old April 19, 2012, 07:59 PM   #10
dickttx
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2011
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 472
Mine, less than a year and a half old, did not come with bolts. Should I call Lee and ask for them?
__________________
Education teaches you the rules, experience teaches you the exceptions (Plagiarized from Claude Clay)
dickttx is offline  
Old April 19, 2012, 09:08 PM   #11
markr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 23, 2008
Location: Arsenal of Democracy
Posts: 395
Yeah, of the two Lee presses I have, neither came with bolts. I got myself some caarriage bolts, nuts and washers.
__________________
I like to make beer, bullets, and jerky.....but not at the same time.

Washed up 11B1P
markr is offline  
Old April 19, 2012, 10:00 PM   #12
Lost Sheep
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 24, 2009
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 2,985
My press did not come with bolts, so I just bought carriage bolts, washers and wing nuts as a set.

Since I dismount my press from the bench after each loading session, I use wing nuts on the carriage bolts.

Just a thought.

Lost Sheep

Last edited by Lost Sheep; April 20, 2012 at 08:35 PM.
Lost Sheep is offline  
Old April 20, 2012, 12:21 PM   #13
carprivershooter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 16, 2008
Location: Michigan, Upper Pennsula
Posts: 395
MY smart a**ed remark is the nut that fits the bolt. Reading the instructions can really help a person install an item. I think I had to go to the hardware and buy my own nuts and bolts. Tell him to go tothe HW store he my find thins he could use for reloading.
__________________
CarpriverShOOter
Finch, I don't like guns. Reese, Me either but if someone has to have guns I'd rather it be me. (Person of Interest).
No trees were destroyed in the posting of the this message
carprivershooter is offline  
Old April 20, 2012, 03:27 PM   #14
higgite
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 21, 2010
Posts: 264
Is this a trick question?
higgite is offline  
Old April 20, 2012, 07:19 PM   #15
LarryFlew
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 15, 2009
Location: Minnesota CZ fan
Posts: 893
no bolts with any of my 3 either
LarryFlew is offline  
Old April 20, 2012, 08:37 PM   #16
Lost Sheep
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 24, 2009
Location: Anchorage Alaska
Posts: 2,985
No sense in Lee supplying bolts

Since Lee (or any maker) can not know the thickness of whatever you will be mounting your press on, it would be a waste of bolts to ship them with the press. A significant portion of loaders would find them too long or too short and have to buy another set anyway.

Lost Sheep
Lost Sheep is offline  
Old April 20, 2012, 10:27 PM   #17
markr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 23, 2008
Location: Arsenal of Democracy
Posts: 395
Lee doesn't even supply bolts with the press mounting plate thingy, probably for the same reason. BTW, I don't get the idea on the wood blocks, when you also get the steel mounting plate with the kit. The steel plate is the bomb, the wood blocks, not so much.
__________________
I like to make beer, bullets, and jerky.....but not at the same time.

Washed up 11B1P
markr is offline  
Old April 20, 2012, 11:22 PM   #18
dacaur
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 16, 2010
Posts: 733
The wood blocks are to mount to the press, then you can have multiple presses quick chance. Some people have plenty of space to mount multiple presses on their bench. Some dont. If you arent going to use the quick change feature, then buying the mount kit is a very expensive way to get a steel plate to mount your press on....
dacaur is offline  
Old April 21, 2012, 10:50 AM   #19
markr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 23, 2008
Location: Arsenal of Democracy
Posts: 395
I know what the wood blocks are for, I just mean they suck compared to the steel plate the kit also comes with. I have the kit. It wasn't that expensive, 20 something dollars.
__________________
I like to make beer, bullets, and jerky.....but not at the same time.

Washed up 11B1P
markr is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.13610 seconds with 9 queries