The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 17, 2012, 07:17 PM   #1
frumious
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 13, 2009
Location: Carrollton TX
Posts: 521
Load workup vs. new rifle barrel

Hi All,

Do you always carefully work up a load for a rifle (using published data), or do you just try a couple of "guesstimate" loads (again, staying within published data) and see what happens? We always talk about working up loads but then I read stuff sometimes where someone just tries a load and it works out great, or someone tries a couple of different loads and they don't work and then goes searching for what might be wrong other than the powder/bullet/brass/primer combo.

Also, is it worth working up a load right away in a factory-new rifle or should you put a few hundred rounds down the pipe for break-in before you try to wring any accuracy out of it?

-cls
frumious is offline  
Old April 17, 2012, 08:40 PM   #2
homesick
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 11, 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 321
I always start out working up loads sometimes it works right off the get go other times not. Most of the time I load up light loads to sight in the rifle and then get right to work. I recently bought a 700 Rem 25-06 XCR it took over 150 rounds to find a load mostly 3 shot groups. I ended up with RL22 behind a 110 gr Accubond Nosler. I did find a load that shot under 3/4" with a 115 BT Nosler very early on but I wanted a 110 gr load. On the other hand I recently picked up a sightly used Ruger MK II 22-250 ( I know the person who bought it new) it had about 4 boxes of factory ammo thru it. This rifle shoot sub 1/2" groups right off, now I am just playing with different bullet weights and powders to see what it will do.
To try and answer part of your question about randomly picking combs to try, if it's a caliber I have had in the past, I try some old proven loads, working up to max of course. If on the other hand I have little experience I do a lot of research and much test loading. I never use forum advice unless its with in the loading manuals numbers. I average several manuals to find min. and max. loads.
homesick is offline  
Old April 17, 2012, 08:51 PM   #3
4runnerman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 16, 2010
Location: Minnsota
Posts: 2,800
I go to Reloadersnest.com. They have hundreds of loads and all the data there. You will find one or 2 powders and one or two primers that most people are using. Drop 10% and start having fun with load development. They also post accuracy for each load there also. You will more than likley find a load for your rifle you are shooting. Take all info from this sight with a grain of salt and a few grains of caution.
__________________
NRA Certified RSO
NwCP- Performance Isn't Optional
4runnerman is offline  
Old April 17, 2012, 09:43 PM   #4
dacaur
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 16, 2010
Posts: 733
With a new rifle, I will load one cartrige each from min to max in .5gr incriments. This does two things, #1, it allows me to check for pressure signs on the way up, and #2, you shoot them all at the same target, they will walk up the target as powder wt goes up, and at some point 2-4 will cluster on the same vertical point. This is your barrels "sweet spot", where you should begin load development.
dacaur is offline  
Old April 18, 2012, 07:16 PM   #5
Bart B.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 15, 2009
Posts: 4,802
Deleted; wrong thread .......

Last edited by Bart B.; April 18, 2012 at 11:09 PM.
Bart B. is offline  
Old April 18, 2012, 08:00 PM   #6
PA-Joe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 9, 2010
Location: NEPA
Posts: 729
It's gonig to take several hundred rounds before your barrel starts to settle in so you will have to change your load accordingly.
PA-Joe is offline  
Old April 18, 2012, 10:00 PM   #7
dacaur
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 16, 2010
Posts: 733
I dont know about several hundred, but I would certainly put at least 50 downrange before I actualy started working up a load....
dacaur is offline  
Old April 18, 2012, 10:03 PM   #8
AllenJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 11, 2009
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,283
In a new rifle I have always carefully worked up my loads. I fire 3 rounds of each load and once I find what I believe is the max charge of powder I then adjust COAL for best accuracy. If I do not get what I expect accuracy wise I'll change powders and start all over.
AllenJ is online now  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07539 seconds with 9 queries