The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 11, 2012, 08:50 PM   #1
bustersmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 8, 2006
Posts: 182
ATI tactical stock

I'm aware of all the pros and cons of an ati pistol grip with full buttstock on a mossberg 500, but I do seem to have a problem with the installation. The slide no longer racks all the way back with that buttstock installed. I'm thinking that the original stock bolt is too long, but it looked about the same length coming out of the ATI stock as it did coming out of the Mossberg stock. I haven't had a chance to get into it yet since discovering this problem. As I recall, the directions didn't make a lot of sense and there was a bunch of adaptors that came with it that it may or may not have needed. I just used the one that resembles a sort of wedge shape that fits all the way into the narrow part of the stock. The directions did say that the Mossy didn't use adaptors, but I couldn't see how it could be installed any other way than what I did. Maybe someone could enlighten me before I tackle this problem.
Thanks
bustersmaster is offline  
Old April 13, 2012, 07:31 PM   #2
bustersmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 8, 2006
Posts: 182
ATI stock

Just got a chance to get into it today. Sure enough, that stock bolt is too long for the ATI stock. I put a 3/8" shim between the bolthead and the insert they provide and it seems to cycle just fine. Seems like they could let you know stuff like that in the instructions. I may look for a different bolt or think about cutting that one down. I'm guessing they don't offer bolts in 3/8" increments and not sure if a 1/2" would be enough bolt.
bustersmaster is offline  
Old April 15, 2012, 03:38 AM   #3
arentol
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 11, 2011
Posts: 230
The ATI stock should come with the proper bolt for use in the Mossberg. You are NOT supposed to use the original stock bolt. The instructions made perfect sense to me, and mine works perfectly.

Also, I think you can also find installation videos on Youtube if you are having trouble.

Last edited by arentol; April 15, 2012 at 11:11 AM.
arentol is offline  
Old April 15, 2012, 06:22 AM   #4
Rob96
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 31, 1999
Location: Allentown,PA
Posts: 1,902
Agree with the above. Comes with everything you need including a spacer that drops the stock a little which gives a little more bolt clearance on top of it.
Rob96 is offline  
Old April 15, 2012, 03:52 PM   #5
bustersmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 8, 2006
Posts: 182
ati

Nope, no bolt came with it and all the parts that did come were in the same factory sealed bag. I can't believe we're talking about the same instructions either.
bustersmaster is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06132 seconds with 9 queries