The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 27, 2012, 02:17 PM   #1
Jim243
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 5, 2009
Location: Just off Route 66
Posts: 4,533
Just for the Record

I know we all have equipment we think is the best, red, green or blue. But sometimes it's not the equipment's fault.

Just started reloading a batch of 357 Sig on a Lee Classic Turret with my Auto-Disk powder measure and Lee dies. Should be a snap, right?

Well the cases were prepared and cleaned, powder (Accurate #7) in the bin, dies set up in their holes and away we go. Not quite, seems every time I drop powder, there's none in the case when I went to measure the charge on the scale?????? Did this three times. What, the powder meaure is not working?? Things like this do not happen, at least to me with Lee equipment. So back in the can goes the powder and out comes the screw driver and appart comes the powder measure, must be something wrong??

Well, no, everything is the way it is suppost to be, so back in everything goes together and off I go trying to drop another charge, same results!!!

After sitting there for 5 min or so scratching my head, a light bulb finally goes on and I check the case. Seems in my concern about everything being just right, I forgot to put a primer in the case and since the powder is very fine grained it just went down the primer hole to the spent primer tube on the ram.

The moral of this story is "engauge brain before reloading" and all of us are NOT infailable. And it's not always the equipment's fault.

I know I am going to get ribbed on this, so shoot away, I deserve it.
Jim
__________________
Si vis pacem, para bellum
Jim243 is offline  
Old March 27, 2012, 02:22 PM   #2
m&p45acp10+1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 3, 2009
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 3,310
Jim I have had a couple of those not so bright moments. I have on a few occasions charged powder in cases that had no primer. Though I use a single stage. I looked down, and thought dang the measure is leaking, only to find out there was no primer in the case.
__________________
No matter how many times you do it and nothing happens it only takes something going wrong one time to kill you.
m&p45acp10+1 is offline  
Old March 27, 2012, 02:41 PM   #3
higgite
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 21, 2010
Posts: 266
I thought you were going to say that you forgot to turn the powder hopper on and I was going to make fun of you but since it turned that you forgot to prime the case, I'll be quiet. Don't ask me why.
higgite is offline  
Old March 27, 2012, 02:47 PM   #4
TriumphGuy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 5, 2009
Posts: 559
You can make fun of me. I did that last night and didn't figure it out until going through all of the troubleshooting that Jim did.
TriumphGuy is offline  
Old March 27, 2012, 02:51 PM   #5
RobertInIowa
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 4, 2012
Location: Iowa
Posts: 149
That's a funny one, but at least no harm came because of it. I think anyone who handloads for awhile has a few of those uh-oh stories to tell, I know I do. Thanks for sharing yours with us Jim.

Robert
__________________
Guns don't kill people, fathers with pretty daughters do.
Two wrongs don't make a right, but three comes pretty close.
Proud NRA member
RobertInIowa is offline  
Old March 27, 2012, 03:06 PM   #6
David Bachelder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 23, 2011
Location: Trinity, Texas
Posts: 632
I have had many of those moments, many.
__________________
David Bachelder
Trinity, Texas
I load, 9mm Luger, 38 and 40 S&W, 38 Special, 357Magnum, 45ACP, 45 Colt, 223, 300 AAC, 243 and 30-06
David Bachelder is offline  
Old March 27, 2012, 03:43 PM   #7
Ethan.G
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 13, 2012
Posts: 127
Quote:
I thought you were going to say that you forgot to turn the powder hopper on and I was going to make fun of you but since it turned that you forgot to prime the case, I'll be quiet. Don't ask me why.
yup, iv done both of these..
Ethan.G is offline  
Old March 28, 2012, 04:02 PM   #8
thedaddycat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 25, 2011
Posts: 388
" so shoot away..."

Not with that ammo, it needs primers!!

I was reloading with a friend and his LCT press ratchet was hanging up and not rotating the turret. We both missed it the first time and I was wondering why and how there was no primer in one of the rounds. Well it turned out that after I sized and primed the case it didn't rotate to the expander die and I stroked the ram and decapped the freshly primed case and never thought to put another primer in... Needless to say, the powder did not want to stay inside that one either....

It turns out that the screw on the part that holds the ratchet square was a tad too tight. A quick tweak and all was good!
thedaddycat is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06981 seconds with 9 queries