The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 29, 2011, 08:50 PM   #1
pmbss396
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 29, 2011
Posts: 1
45acp problems

I was testing some 45acp loads today. I had some huge variations in speed 714(high) to 323 fps (low). I was also getting a lot of errors on the chrono. I only had problems with 45acp. 44mag, 500S&W, 357mag were all consistent. There were a few different loads but the worst one was 230gr XTP, mixed brass, cci primer and 4.5gr of Titegroup. I was using a 1911 and had no malfunctions and it was shooting good groups. I have always had a lot of errors on the chrono with 45acp, any suggestions?
pmbss396 is offline  
Old December 29, 2011, 09:10 PM   #2
dacaur
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 16, 2010
Posts: 733
how far is it from the muzzle? maybe its reading the muzzle blast, which would give you the super low readings.... If you are getting good groups, there is no way the bullets are really going 323fps....
dacaur is offline  
Old December 29, 2011, 09:11 PM   #3
medalguy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 31, 2009
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,017
Also be sure you're shooting in the "sweet spot" on the chrono. Too high or too low will result in bad readings, and one TOO low will result in a dead chrono. (Or so I've been told)
medalguy is offline  
Old December 29, 2011, 09:54 PM   #4
Ralph Allen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 21, 2007
Posts: 383
Chronograph problem, no doubt about it. Check all your connections and batteries. All good, then make sure you are doing your part correctly.
Ralph
Ralph Allen is offline  
Old December 30, 2011, 06:38 AM   #5
Cascade1911
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 27, 2011
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Posts: 450
You don't mention which chronograph but I had a very similar problem with a Crony F1. Would read my .38's, .357, and 9mm but I would get a read error or large variations with my 45's. Tried everything, changing distance, shooting higher and lower, sky screens on, off, through a scrim. I sent the unit back to Crony. They claimed the sensors were too sensitive and replaced them. Unit works great now.
Cascade1911 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06455 seconds with 9 queries