The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 30, 2011, 11:26 PM   #1
Join Date: August 19, 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36
AR-15 Castle nut ?

Hey guys I am attempting to remove my castle nut to put on a single point sling mount. Never done it myself always had the shop do it befor but I am going to give it ago. My wonder is if I need to do somthing about the 2 crimped looking things that seem to lock the nut on befor I start trying to remove it. I put a little pressure on it with my wrench today and it seemed like it was on there super good. I just dont want to put so much pressure that I jack something up. SHH I wished my local smithy had not gone out of business.
Chris84 is offline  
Old October 1, 2011, 07:42 AM   #2
Senior Member
Join Date: July 15, 2006
Location: Fern Creek ,KY and Metro Louisville at large
Posts: 329
Yes you will need to grind out the stake on the castle nut
CW Shooters Supply Inc
Machine Shop and Finishing Services to the trade and public
guncrank is offline  

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2015 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent:
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.15754 seconds with 9 queries