The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old September 24, 2011, 02:22 PM   #1
JACK308
Junior member
 
Join Date: July 10, 2011
Posts: 377
I hate my Nikon predator

I like a scope where the cross hairs intersect in stead their on top of a small circle!.When I shoot my 223 at the bullseye at 200 yards and the bulleye in the circle I still miss the center! by about 3/4" to 1" - next time I shoot it 55 gr. and it still acts like crap thats it new scope I'm done playing around with this.
JACK308 is offline  
Old September 24, 2011, 04:12 PM   #2
mrawesome22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 9, 2005
Location: Ohio, Appalachia's foothills.
Posts: 3,779
Exactly. Sometimes frogs will try breeding with mud puppies and the result is somethinh similar. If you go down to the bait store, they will make it right with ya.
mrawesome22 is offline  
Old September 24, 2011, 04:33 PM   #3
MLeake
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 15, 2007
Location: Outside KC, MO
Posts: 10,128
Did you not know the reticle configuration when you bought the scope?
MLeake is offline  
Old September 24, 2011, 04:49 PM   #4
JACK308
Junior member
 
Join Date: July 10, 2011
Posts: 377
At the time I thought it would work but I wish I would of past on this.
JACK308 is offline  
Old September 24, 2011, 06:20 PM   #5
nathaniel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 11, 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 600
I have a nikon prostaff with the BDC reticle and have no problems with it. Must be the operator.
nathaniel is offline  
Old September 24, 2011, 06:29 PM   #6
JACK308
Junior member
 
Join Date: July 10, 2011
Posts: 377
Thats easy to say nathaniel but it's..... NOT!
JACK308 is offline  
Old September 24, 2011, 08:22 PM   #7
MLeake
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 15, 2007
Location: Outside KC, MO
Posts: 10,128
I also have a Nikon ProStaff with BDC reticle; granted it's on a .30-06, not a .223, but I have no trouble with it.
MLeake is offline  
Old September 24, 2011, 08:58 PM   #8
Ideal Tool
Junior member
 
Join Date: October 6, 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,080
I have a windage adjustable front sight with interchangeable appatures. For shooting at different ranges and/or targets..you just change appa. dia.
In your case...you need to find a bigger/smaller target!
Ideal Tool is offline  
Old September 25, 2011, 10:33 AM   #9
bman940
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 29, 2010
Location: N. Texas
Posts: 109
Nikon Coyote Special Scope

Jack, I can tell you it took me a little while to get used to the reticle on this scope as well. It's not a target scope by any means. It is designed for getting on target quickly and making an accurate shot. I found sighting in at 100 yards it is best to use a target with squares and aim at the crossing lines. I have used my Rifle/Scope combo to dispatch numerous vermin just because I was able to pick up my target, center it in the circle and get a round down range. I also utilize Nikon's Spot On program to further enhance my accuracy.
For those of you who are not familiar with the Coyote Special Scope, this is what the reticle looks like. Imagine how easy it would be to put a coyote in the circle and shoot. Also here's a pic of a buddy who as a first timer to this rifle shot it better then I did!

http://i1216.photobucket.com/albums/...lreticle-1.png

http://i1216.photobucket.com/albums/...riePanther.jpg
__________________
Bart
Nikon Pro Staff
bman940 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.08224 seconds with 9 queries