The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > The Smithy

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 17, 2011, 09:27 PM   #1
carprivershooter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 16, 2008
Location: Michigan, Upper Pennsula
Posts: 396
My M1 Carbine

I bought a Auto Ordence M1 Cabine. Shoots great, high right. once I figured it out iam was able to be on target. Now the question I also got the adjustable sight and want to change it from the standard sight. Can I change the sight with just a brass hammer and a brass drift punch? or am I gong to have to shell out for a sight adjustment vise. Would like some input before I start to hammer (tapping) on the rifle. thanks guys,

The Auto Ordince M1 is a repro of the origanl issue carbine with the flip peep sight. I also have a 1945 M1 carbine that i bought but have yet to shoot I hope to reload some ammo and shoot it this weekend to have something to compare the repro too
__________________
CarpriverShOOter
Finch, I don't like guns. Reese, Me either but if someone has to have guns I'd rather it be me. (Person of Interest).
No trees were destroyed in the posting of the this message
carprivershooter is offline  
Old March 18, 2011, 02:23 PM   #2
john323
Member
 
Join Date: June 16, 2009
Location: MONTEREY PARK , CA
Posts: 74
Just tap it out with the punch.Left to right.
__________________
johnsgunsmithing@live.com

Southern California
Anything legal, Rifles, Handguns, Shotguns, Black powder
john323 is offline  
Old March 18, 2011, 10:48 PM   #3
carprivershooter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 16, 2008
Location: Michigan, Upper Pennsula
Posts: 396
thanks

Thanks John for yopur input, I don't want bogger the gun up.
__________________
CarpriverShOOter
Finch, I don't like guns. Reese, Me either but if someone has to have guns I'd rather it be me. (Person of Interest).
No trees were destroyed in the posting of the this message
carprivershooter is offline  
Old March 19, 2011, 12:07 AM   #4
gyvel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 30, 2009
Location: Northern AZ
Posts: 5,229
Use an aluminum punch or bar. It will leave aluminum stains on the metal which comes off with solvent, but you won't bugger the metal like you will with brass when it work hardens.
gyvel is offline  
Old March 19, 2011, 12:29 AM   #5
kenno
Junior member
 
Join Date: November 3, 2008
Posts: 180
I sawed off an M-2 carbine, had the 30 rnd mags and loved the thought of 110grn bullets flying sideways; at 30 feet what was not to love?.
Seeing as Audie Murphy used an M-1carbine when hunting Trained German Snipers
AHH
And hung the Nazi Sniper Rifles on the Company Chuck Wagon apre/morte
I would reconcdier makeing wild statments about Audie, he payed a huge price for not dieing
Audie would have been better off dead
God's honest truth, It aint just that's he's a Texan, he's a Txn that did not go bad despite having all the odds stacked against him, and fer christ's sake the odds were pointing towards a **** sto9rm if he'd have ever made it to the interstates!

Last edited by kenno; March 19, 2011 at 12:41 AM.
kenno is offline  
Old March 19, 2011, 01:23 AM   #6
Nnobby45
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 20, 2004
Posts: 3,148
Well, here's the story of my Auto Ordinance M1 Carbine.

Shot about 8" high at 50 yds. Too much. Occasionally, if would fail to eject all the way. Nothing wrong with the extractor, it would stop just short of the round being clearing the chamber. Once every 15 rd. mag. or so. (I load 14 rds)

Thought it might be lower pressure ammo, but it did it with anything. At least it's an easy malfunction to clear.



Sent the rifle back and they replaced the bbl. I had them install adjustable sights. However, the rifle still shoots about 5" high @ 50yds. with the sight adjusted down as far as it will go. About 1Ft. high at 100 yds. I can live with that on a 50 yds on in carbine.

Also, this is a very accurate rifle.

Ejection problem existed after 500 rds., but not as much. I'd polished some parts, and that helped. But, I'd had enough, so I "lubed" the bolt with Flitz polishing compound, and the inside of the receiver--anywhere the bolt would rub--- and ran a couple of magazines thru the gun.

It's worked since without a hitch after putting ten magazines thru it with CorBon DPX, Federal SP, Am. Eagle, and even Wolf.

Handles CorBon DPX just fine, and I believe that ammo might solve any stopping power issues. After my polishing trick, I accidentally mixed up my DPX carry ammo with American Eagle and put 42 rds. of DPX down range without a hitch. Expensive, but gave me some piece of mind.

I added a buttstock ammo pouch (two mag.s) and I have a good 'grab and go' carbine that transports inconspicuously and shoots well. Can't remember where I ordered the pouch on line, but if you Google around, I think you can fine them.

Not trying to take over the thread with my own personal story, but hopefully what I've experienced might prove useful.

Last edited by Nnobby45; March 19, 2011 at 01:50 AM.
Nnobby45 is offline  
Old March 19, 2011, 08:21 AM   #7
rdmallory
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 10, 2009
Location: Deltona FL
Posts: 952
Quote:
Can't remember where I ordered the pouch on line,
Check Kahr.

They have a lot of stuff on sale for the Carbine.

I order the mag holder, bayonet lug, carry strap with oiler, and adjustable rear sight from them.

Waiting on dies to go with the 1000 rounds of brass I purchased from TopBrass.
Next on the list a leather grip bayonet.

Doug
rdmallory is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07335 seconds with 9 queries