The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 18, 2010, 01:38 PM   #1
SemperWFi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Posts: 3
AR-15 Bipod mounting

This goes out to all of the guys out there who no WAY more than me... pretty basic question I'm thinking.

5.56 Med weight 16" barrel on and AR-15
Has free floating quad-rail hand guard and quad-rail gas block

I have a bipod to mount and I’m trying to decide if I can mount it to the gas block or not. It fits; but will it hamper the rifle’s accuracy??

So, bipod mounting – free floating hand guard or gas block? What do you suggest and why?

Thanks guys!

Semper
__________________
_____________________________________________
"When in doubt... fire two warning shots to the head"
SemperWFi is offline  
Old December 18, 2010, 01:49 PM   #2
Lemmon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 25, 2009
Location: Rural South Carolina
Posts: 409
Good Question, waiting to see the answer.

Welcome to The Firing Line. I have learned a lot in the past few months from this group. I would like to see some of the answers myself. Lemmon
Lemmon is offline  
Old December 18, 2010, 01:59 PM   #3
shanzlik
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 28, 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 547
I would go with the handguard. Is something else mounted there you don't want to move?

A bipod could transfer enough force to affect accuracy. For example, bipods on Hogue stocks wind up pushing the stock into contact with the barrel affecting shot to shot consistency. Obviously slightly different situation here, but the point of a free float rail is lost if you attach something applying force elsewhere to the barrel.
__________________
TSRA Life Member, NRA Endowment Life Member, SAF Life Member
My EDC - STI Shadow
My blog - firearm reviews, etc.
shanzlik is offline  
Old December 18, 2010, 02:17 PM   #4
SemperWFi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Posts: 3
Hey guys!

See that is what I was thinking as well.

It's not that there is currently something in that area I would need to move - it's more that it takes up a chunk of space on the hand guard which restricts hand placement options a good bit.

I agree with the point of pressure which is why I asked the question. I was just wondering if we're talking enough to make a difference. My understanding of the free float barrel is that keeping it from having a restriction point allows it to maintain correct harmonics (if I'm saying that correctly) and keeps it from creating a flex point at the hand guard mount when under firing pressure.

Since the bipod is just a rest and isn’t strong mounted between the barrel and something else (like the hand guard between the barrel and the upper) I wasn’t sure it create inaccuracy to any noticeable degree under let’s say 300 yards.

You think it would?
__________________
_____________________________________________
"When in doubt... fire two warning shots to the head"
SemperWFi is offline  
Old December 18, 2010, 06:05 PM   #5
Technosavant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2007
Location: St. Louis, MO area
Posts: 3,848
My first question- are we really talking about a rifle that can dot an "i" at 300 yards? There's precious few of those in the AR platform, so before we really talk about how much it might affect accuracy, I wonder just how accurate the thing is to begin with. A 16" barrel is not usually the one chosen for long range shooting- they can indeed be accurate, but they aren't often the first pick for that.

If your rifle is sub-MOA and you want to keep it that way, mount it to the handguard; it's the only way to be sure you don't affect anything. If it's a 2-3 MOA rifle, then the bipod on the gas block won't affect anything. If you want the best of both worlds, get a quick detach handguard mount for the bipod and put it on when you want to use it.
Technosavant is offline  
Old December 18, 2010, 09:46 PM   #6
SemperWFi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 18, 2010
Posts: 3
Ok, that is exactly what I was thinking so I'm going to stick with what I've done. It's been mounted on the hand guard so all is good enough. It's a 3k AR and it shoots like a 3k AR should, just wanted to make sure I'm keeping it that way (checking to see if I could have my cake and eat it too).

Thanks a ton for the confirmation!
__________________
_____________________________________________
"When in doubt... fire two warning shots to the head"
SemperWFi is offline  
Reply

Tags
ar-15 , bipod mounting , gas block

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.05881 seconds with 9 queries