The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 9, 2010, 09:45 PM   #1
Gary Slider
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 10, 2006
Location: New Martinsville, WV
Posts: 248
New Reciprocity: AR & Maine, AR & NH, NC & NV

Arkansas has signed Reciprocity agreements with Maine and New Hampshire. AR now honors 35 other states. Maine 6 and NH 21.

North Carolina has added Nevada to the list of states it Honors. That gives them a total of 33 states they honor. NV looks at other states laws every year and adds or subtracts states that meet their requirements. They don't ask for the other state to honor their permit/license. NV honors 13 other states permit/licenses. NV added NC to its list a few months back.

A note of Caution: Do be aware that NC will only honor a New Hampshire Resident Permit. NC will honor non resident permits from the other states they honor. They have told me that NH wanted it this way. NH has raised their Non Resident Permit cost to $100 from $20 and it looks to me like they are trying to discourage people from applying for their Non Resident Permit.

On another Note I am getting lots of email about Iowa and their new Law. Their new law does not go into effect till 1/1/11. At that time Iowa will become Shall Issue and Honor all other states permit/licenses. Until 1/1/11 Iowa is still May Issue and DOES NOT Honor any other states permit/license.

One other Note. A Michigan Ct held that a man didn't inform the officer fast enough when stopped for a traffic violation. He just handed him his permit/license and waited 40 seconds (From Police Cam). The Ct Ruled that just handing him the permit/license was not informing and that 40 seconds was not immediately. (this from MCRGO)
__________________
___________
Gary Slider
Co-Owner Handgunlaw.us
Member Armed Citizens Legal Defense Network.
Gary Slider is offline  
Old August 9, 2010, 10:04 PM   #2
csmsss
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 24, 2008
Location: Orange, TX
Posts: 2,986
Quote:
One other Note. A Michigan Ct held that a man didn't inform the officer fast enough when stopped for a traffic violation. He just handed him his permit/license and waited 40 seconds (From Police Cam). The Ct Ruled that just handing him the permit/license was not informing and that 40 seconds was not immediately. (this from MCRGO)
Wow...just...wow. Here's hoping a Michigan appellate court will throw this disaster of a ruling out.
csmsss is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.05454 seconds with 9 queries