The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 27, 2009, 05:51 PM   #1
miknoon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 27, 2009
Location: arizona
Posts: 1
Citori O/U Shotgun firing problem..please help

My Browning Citori shotgun is not firing out of the 'over' position...under is firing fine...I have taken apart and cleaned very well and still isn't firing the shell on the over position.
miknoon is offline  
Old December 27, 2009, 07:36 PM   #2
BigJimP
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 23, 2005
Posts: 11,345
Which model of Citori is it ?
How old is the gun ?
Is it new to you / bought recently / was it bought new or used ??
Have you taken the stock off ?
Have you inspected the firing pins ?
Are you shooting reloads or factory shells ?
what gague is it ?
BigJimP is offline  
Old December 27, 2009, 09:37 PM   #3
RoscoeC
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 21, 2006
Location: DFW Metromess
Posts: 562
By "firing", do you mean actually firing or are you dry firing?
__________________
“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing." --Helen Keller
"Do not cry havoc when you should but hunt with modest warrant." --William Shakespeare
Glock Certified Armorer
NRA Life Member
RoscoeC is offline  
Old December 27, 2009, 11:15 PM   #4
olddrum1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 23, 2008
Location: Mid Missouri
Posts: 782
Good possibility that your shell does not have enough recoil to reset the second barrel.
olddrum1 is offline  
Old December 27, 2009, 11:38 PM   #5
olddrum1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 23, 2008
Location: Mid Missouri
Posts: 782
If your shooting walmart shells they may not reset your shotgun. Try a box of STS or AAs in 1 1/8 ounce. Try switchng the selector also. This is the cheap fix.
olddrum1 is offline  
Old December 28, 2009, 09:45 AM   #6
oneounceload
Junior member
 
Join Date: April 18, 2008
Location: N. Central Florida
Posts: 8,518
How is this occurring?

If you're merely dry firing, then you will need to bump the butt on the ground, slap it hard with your hand, or just switch the barrel selector. Inertia guns need recoil to reset the trigger.

If you're using good ammo and there's and issue, it could be the firing pin is slightly worn, and coupled with possibly some deep primers, isn't making contact.

A little more information would really help.
oneounceload is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.08852 seconds with 9 queries