The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 7, 2008, 03:48 PM   #1
vwjoe84
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 7, 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 13
.36 Caliber pistol loads

Hello everyone. I'm somewhat new to Blackpowder, I have in the past shot BP rifles and revolvers, but never loaded them etc. I recently picked up a Pietta .36 Pocket Navy, or Sheriff model. I'm not sure which one it is, but it has a 5 1/2 inch barrel, no brace above the cylinders, and has the sleeker body style compared to the 1851 Navy. I would take a picture, but girlfriend has misplaced the camera.
When i bought it, it didn't come with any instruction manual, and my searches online for one were fruitless. I've kind of come to the assumption that it should be about 20g. But i'm not sure if barrel length is a factor when it comes to powder loads.... I'll be using Pyrodex "P" the fffg equivalent. Or so the jug says. So i guess my question is how much powder does this revolver use?
vwjoe84 is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 04:05 PM   #2
Hawg Haggen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 8, 2007
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 11,650
However much the cylinder will hold and still fully seat a ball. I don't have a .36 but 20 sounds about right. Of course you don't have to load it all the way up. Just saying you can.
Hawg Haggen is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 04:48 PM   #3
mykeal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 8, 2006
Location: Northern Michigan
Posts: 2,754
Barrel length does not matter to load with a pistol. 20 gr is a full chamber on that model; 15 gr is probably a better choice for accuracy.
mykeal is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 04:58 PM   #4
kwhi43@kc.rr.com
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 21, 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,169
Thats Right

What Hawg said is right. I use 17 grs. Goex FFF Black powder and just enough
creme of wheat to bring the ball up to within 1/16 of the end of the chamber.
This is for target shooting.
kwhi43@kc.rr.com is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 06:15 PM   #5
kwhi43@kc.rr.com
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 21, 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,169
Hope you find your camera. Here is my little .36
kwhi43@kc.rr.com is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 08:24 PM   #6
Fingers McGee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 19, 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,844
My standard .36 load for '51 and '61 Navies is 20gr fffg, wad & .380 roundball.
__________________
Fingers (Show Me MO smoke) McGee - AKA Man of Many Colts - Alter ego of Diabolical Ken; SASS Regulator 28564-L-TG; Rangemaster and stage writer extraordinaire; Frontiersman, Pistoleer, NRA Endowment Life, NMLRA, SAF, CCRKBA, STORM 327, SV115; Charter member, Central Ozarks Western Shooters
Cynic: A blackguard whose faulty vision see things as they are, not as they should be. Ambrose Bierce
Fingers McGee is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 08:57 PM   #7
vwjoe84
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 7, 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 13
Ok here it is. Now the bummer is that i was only able to procure locally the .350 balls. They seem to fit a bit loose, but looks like having a patch around it will help fill in the gap.

Sorry it's kind of dark
vwjoe84 is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 09:10 PM   #8
Hawg Haggen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 8, 2007
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 11,650
Gonna take a mighty thick patch. I also imagine you'll lose the patch in the forcing cone. I'd order some .375 or .380 balls for it.
Hawg Haggen is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 09:28 PM   #9
kwhi43@kc.rr.com
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 21, 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,169
Tried To Help

I tried to lighten up the picture a little. Hope you don't mind or get mad at me.
kwhi43@kc.rr.com is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 09:54 PM   #10
vwjoe84
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 7, 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 13
Thanks kwhi43 for lightening up the picture. Looks good!

Hawg, do you think i can get away with the .350 balls for now, i went through much trouble to get them locally so i bought 200 (For when all hell breaks loose). The patches i got are .018 thickness. I've sat a ball and patch on the cylinder hole and it will take some pressure to mash it in there, and the ball shouldn't drop out. Is losing the patch in the forcing cone bad? I imagine that it would blow apart and exit the gun with the blast.
vwjoe84 is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 10:41 PM   #11
kwhi43@kc.rr.com
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 21, 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,169
OK Hawg, Your Turn

Your Turn
kwhi43@kc.rr.com is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 10:49 PM   #12
Hawg Haggen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 8, 2007
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 11,650
They might fit the chamber ok which will(should) shave lead on a .375 ball. If it loses the patch in the forcing cone like I think it will you'll just have a .350 ball banging around on it's way out the muzzle. No bore pressure to get muzzle velocity up and no accuracy. Try it if you like. Won't hurt anything. The patch will blow out the muzzle but I wouldn't shoot it over dry grass.
Hawg Haggen is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 11:37 PM   #13
Shotgun Willy
Member
 
Join Date: May 22, 2007
Location: Oklahoma Territory
Posts: 87
As an alternative to patches, just tap your balls with a hammer. Stop s******ing, I know how it sounds!
Anyway, if you'll put them onto a hard surface and give them a good tap with a hammer, they'll get a little wider. Just make sure to load them flat side up.
Ok now s******, I'm gonna.
Shotgun Willy is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 11:46 PM   #14
Hawg Haggen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 8, 2007
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 11,650
Somehow shooting a bullet that's wider than it is long just don't sound right.
*s******, s*******
Hawg Haggen is offline  
Old December 7, 2008, 11:53 PM   #15
pohill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 27, 2005
Location: northeast
Posts: 518
I would not use a .350 ball in a .36 gun, ever, but if you do, only load one cylinder at a time - you do not want a chainfire. Also, I would not use patches, but again, if you do, only load one chamber at a time.
I have "bumped" the ball up with a hammer (and squished it wider with a pair of plyers) a few times and it does work well.
pohill is offline  
Old December 8, 2008, 09:21 AM   #16
Shotgun Willy
Member
 
Join Date: May 22, 2007
Location: Oklahoma Territory
Posts: 87
Quote:
Somehow shooting a bullet that's wider than it is long just don't sound right.

If you tap it real gentle like, it doesn't flatten it all that much, but it does help the ball reach out to the sides of the cyl. better. Of course a .350's gonna take quite a bit of adjustment, and accuracy's gonna purely suck, if they're not loaded perfectly. When I had this problem, I ordered a .380 Lee mold, and recast them.
Shotgun Willy is offline  
Old December 8, 2008, 10:38 AM   #17
grymster2007
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 22, 2007
Location: In the oak studded hills near Napa
Posts: 2,203
Quote:
If you tap it real gentle like, it doesn't flatten it all that much
What? You guys never heard of the ol' pancake load? Sometimes I just take some 1/4" thick lead and punch into discs that will shave a ring in my revolver. Ever seen a lead frisbee?
__________________
grym
grymster2007 is offline  
Old December 8, 2008, 12:07 PM   #18
madcratebuilder
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 2, 2007
Location: Northern Orygun
Posts: 4,868
Your going to hurt yourself with those .350 balls, you need bigger balls................................to shot those little balls.
madcratebuilder is offline  
Old December 8, 2008, 03:07 PM   #19
kwhi43@kc.rr.com
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 21, 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,169
Front

Front of my .36 cyclinder. It is champerefed so as to not cut a ring of lead.
Inside dia. is .357 Ball dia. is .360
kwhi43@kc.rr.com is offline  
Old December 8, 2008, 07:07 PM   #20
vwjoe84
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 7, 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 13
Ok, you have me sold on getting a bigger ball size. Now since I cant return ammunition, i think i might just get the mold and melt them into larger bullets. Been looking on track of the wolf at the lee molds. But dont know which one i should purchase. Any suggestions? Also i was wanting to do this over fire outside. Is that possible what else will I need?
vwjoe84 is offline  
Old December 9, 2008, 07:41 AM   #21
Hawg Haggen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 8, 2007
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 11,650
Forget TOW for molds. Go here and get a .375 or .380. http://fmreloading.com/ Either one should work. .380 might be a little harder to load. A double cavity is best. You can do it over an open fire but it's gonna be mighty hot. Best to get a lead pot.
Hawg Haggen is offline  
Old December 10, 2008, 12:09 AM   #22
arcticap
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 15, 2005
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 2,973
Those .018 patches should seal more than tight enough to prevent a chainfire and to keep the balls in the chamber.
The Pietta Remingtons usually prefer the .375 balls.
arcticap is offline  
Old December 10, 2008, 12:26 PM   #23
vwjoe84
Junior Member
 
Join Date: December 7, 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 13
Sweet, Thanks everybody .375 it is. And that place you referred me to Hawg is just down the highway! So i can just go and pick one up.
vwjoe84 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.10854 seconds with 9 queries