The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old June 21, 2007, 09:48 AM   #1
jclayto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 14, 2005
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 547
Do you think this would be safe?

The ammo I am making calls for a starting load of 14.1 grains and a max load of 15.2. I would really like to try out some loads this weekend, but I do not have a double disk kit yet. Using the stock disk I can throw 14.7 loads. I know you are always supposed to "Work up" from start, but for the sake of trying out my new press, how do you feel about starting in the middle of the range? It's going in a Desert Eagle, so I am pretty sure I will wind up having to load in the mid-upper end of the range anyway.

I ordered the double disk, should be here next week.
jclayto is offline  
Old June 21, 2007, 09:57 AM   #2
captain54
Member
 
Join Date: May 16, 2007
Posts: 27
Yes, you are supposed to start low and work up. I however, typically do not start at the very low end with the loads that I make as long as all of the components for the published load are the same as the ones that I am using-ie the published load is using cci primers and I am using cci primers. I normally start at the middle of the range and work up from there. I would advise that if you use this approach, that you do not load up hundreds of rounds with out doing a test batch first.
captain54 is offline  
Old June 21, 2007, 10:02 AM   #3
jclayto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 14, 2005
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 547
thanks! I was thinking i would make 10 or 20 just to try them out. What can I say, I am like a kid at Christmas with a new toy.
jclayto is offline  
Old June 21, 2007, 10:13 AM   #4
Jim Watson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 25, 2001
Location: Alabama
Posts: 11,207
Do you have a scale? If so, why not weigh out some starting loads? Not many, I don't know how tolerant the Desert Eagle is of light loads.

If not, chances are that 14.7 gr disk does not really deliver that much anyhow.
Jim Watson is offline  
Old June 21, 2007, 10:34 AM   #5
jclayto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 14, 2005
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 547
I have a hornady beam scale that seems to be pretty accurate. I was going to use it to make sure that the 14.7 setting was really 14.7. I had not thought of using the scale to measure out loads and hand pouring them, that makes sense.

From all I have read and been told it's not tolerant of light loads at all, so chances are I'll end up near the top of the load. But I would feel safer starting low since I am new to this.

Thanks for the great suggestion!

Also, forgive me if this is a really dumb question. how do you recommend cleaning up powder spills and disposing of the spilled powder? Seems I have read that the shopvac is not the best solution.
jclayto is offline  
Old June 21, 2007, 10:48 AM   #6
cdrt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 7, 2007
Location: The Lone Star State
Posts: 255
I think the main concern is the shopvac causing a spark that could ignite the powder. They do make sparkless vacs for range use when cleaning up "green" powder (the stuff that doesn't ignite when you shoot off a round).

You didn't say how much you spilled. I've used my shopvac to clean up very small quantities of Bullseye without any problems.
__________________
Navy Vet, SWIFT Boat OIC, Distinguished Pistol Shot #1399
USS JOHN S. MCCAIN (DDG-36)
cdrt is offline  
Old June 21, 2007, 11:00 AM   #7
jclayto
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 14, 2005
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 547
It was a small quantity. I am am not sure if it was normal or not, but after charging a few cases with my pro powder measure, i turned it to off and unscrewed it to look at the disk. There was some powder build up on top of the disk and I managed to spill that.

I really appreciate everyones input.
jclayto is offline  
Old June 21, 2007, 01:27 PM   #8
Cpl Nobbs
Member
 
Join Date: February 1, 2007
Posts: 65
for powder and so forth, those little "shark" hand vacs are cheap and useful. the stuff is caught in a little fabric cup in the front (I save all that in a "mixed powder" container that I save for Halloween)

even used it to suck up spilled primers.
Cpl Nobbs is offline  
Old June 21, 2007, 03:28 PM   #9
The Real Wyatt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: July 10, 2006
Location: South Central KY
Posts: 339
I remove the tool from the end of the shop-vac, place a hnadkerchief over the hose, poke a little pocket in the handkerchief, grasp the hose-end and handkerchief tightly and turn the shop-vac on and vaccuum up the spill. When done, hold the hose upright and turn the shop-vac off. Gather up the ends of the handkerchief and pull it outta the hose. I've picked up as much as 2-3 ounces this way. Take the handkerchief outside and dump the powder on the ground under the rosebush (watch out for thorns!).
The Real Wyatt is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07866 seconds with 9 queries