The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old April 12, 2007, 11:04 PM   #1
Kato_Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 26, 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 212
to mag prime or not????

I have the lee book which I was going to go by for my 270wsm (130gr solid base boat tail). with h414 powder it says 57.0-61.0gr with a standard primer. In the hodgen powder book it says 130gr soft point 61.0gr max with a mag primer. In the lyman manual I have it says 60.0 gr max with a mag primer.

There is no specific load data for this bullet only other 130gr soft points, so do I load up to 60.0 only with the mag primer or can I load to 60 grains and slowly inch up to 61.0gr? could someone take a look at their manual and point me in the right direction??

if this is a little confusing let me know and I will explain it different. I might have rambled a little. sorry


thanks for your help!!
kyle
Kato_Guy is offline  
Old April 13, 2007, 12:03 AM   #2
Ifishsum
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 15, 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 699
Just a difference in load data between manufacturer's and testing platform. What I do is start at the starting load with whatever primer you decide on, then inch up until you find the most accurate group. I usually go 1/2 gr at a time. There's not necessarily a need to get to maximum, and you might reach pressure signs in your rifle before you get there. You're gonna get velocity out of a .270WSM anyway, so I'd look for the accuracy even if it is near the starting load.

I usually use magnum primers with ball powder like 414. Just stick with what you tested with, it could be unsafe if you are near a max load and then switch to different primers without working back up.
Ifishsum is offline  
Old April 13, 2007, 09:09 AM   #3
Kato_Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 26, 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 212
I was so frustrated last night working with this load!! My wonderful lee equipment! Love it so far but my auto prime doesn't work with mag primers. So I got out the ram primer that worked pretty swift though. and I dont know if I am a little picky of it everyone's does this but every charge is different. they are off a tenth or two!! I need a powder trickler I guess.

thanks for the info
kyle
Kato_Guy is offline  
Old April 13, 2007, 09:52 AM   #4
Unclenick
Staff
 
Join Date: March 4, 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 10,221
Most ball powder will throw to about the accuracy you mention with standard measures, and with a benchrest measure you can stay within 0.1 grain. That said, keep in mind that about 0.2 grains of difference in water capacity of a case will have about the same effect as changing powder charge 0.1 grains. 70:30 cartridge brass is 8.5 times the density of water, so your brass weighs +/- 1.7 grains, it will have about the same effect as a varying the charge +/- 0.1 grains. You want to trim your cases (the factory often doesn't do a very consistent job) and cut the primer pocket bottoms to uniform depth and deburr the flashholes before weighing so you start with dimensionally similar brass, and the weight variation then reflects the water capacity more closely. If you want the case volume variation to be insignificant compared with the powder, you probably want to sort it tighter than I just mentioned. Say, +/- a grain. Half a grain if you are benchrest shooting.

After you've done all this stuff, the next trick is to find a load that is relatively insensitive to charge weight error in the first place. Take a look at Dan Newberry's Optimum Charge Weight site.
__________________
Gunsite Orange Hat Family Member
CMP Certified GSM Master Instructor
NRA Certified Rifle Instructor
NRA Benefactor Member
Unclenick is offline  
Old April 13, 2007, 01:45 PM   #5
T. O'Heir
Senior Member
 
Join Date: February 13, 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,201
Load for the bullet weight. Who made it doesn't matter. Begin with the starting load and work up to the max.
A trickler used with your scale is the way to go. It does matter if the charge is different for each load. Not dangerous, just inconsistent.
I can't imagine why your auto-primer won't work with the magnum primers. The diameter is the same as a regular primer.
T. O'Heir is offline  
Old April 14, 2007, 07:44 AM   #6
Kato_Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 26, 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 212
Just playing with my stuff and relized that there is a 2nd tray that is for the mag primers.

Sorry for ranting about the lee products not having the stuff I need !!
Kato_Guy is offline  
Old April 14, 2007, 08:05 AM   #7
brickeyee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 29, 2004
Posts: 3,342
That does not make a lot of sense since there is NO difference between the dimensions of a magnum primer and a standard primer.
The change is in the priming composition.
brickeyee is offline  
Old April 14, 2007, 08:14 AM   #8
rfdillon
Member
 
Join Date: April 8, 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 52
Are you sure you don't mean there are two trays, one for small primers and one for large primers? Magnum primers are not larger dimensionally; small pistol or rifle magnum primers should be loaded with the small tray, and large pistol or rifle magnum primers should be loaded with the large tray.
rfdillon is offline  
Old April 14, 2007, 08:33 AM   #9
Shane Tuttle
Staff
 
Join Date: November 28, 2005
Location: Blue Grass, IA
Posts: 8,551
"Load for the bullet weight. Who made it doesn't matter."

TO'Heir,

I have to respectfully disagree with your statement. Even if the bullet weights are the same, the shape of the tails could be different. Therefore, it would change the burn characteristics of the powder due to differences of powder/empty space ratio.

Could you provide and explaination? I can see if you mean in the context that since you stated to begin with the starting load it wouldn't matter as far as overpressure. Is this what you mean?
__________________
If it were up to me, the word "got" would be deleted from the English language.

Posting and YOU: http://www.albinoblacksheep.com/flash/posting
Shane Tuttle is offline  
Old April 14, 2007, 02:43 PM   #10
Kato_Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 26, 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 212
My wsr primers and the WLRM primers need two separate trays. the large magnum primers are bigger than the wsr primers
Kato_Guy is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.08514 seconds with 9 queries