The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 3, 2007, 11:54 AM   #1
JRD
Member
 
Join Date: February 27, 2007
Posts: 15
Vibratory Case Cleaner

Do you clean your brass before or after you trim? I have had guys tell me both ways, just looking for some opinions. I was thinking you cleaned before you trim, but than others said after, that way you dont leave any brass trimmings behind.
JRD is offline  
Old March 3, 2007, 02:16 PM   #2
mrawesome22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 9, 2005
Location: Ohio, Appalachia's foothills.
Posts: 3,779
I don't see how it could possibly make a difference either way.
mrawesome22 is offline  
Old March 3, 2007, 03:39 PM   #3
Abstract
Junior member
 
Join Date: December 25, 2006
Posts: 443
Hmmm. Can't see any reason to trim prior to sizing. Can't see any reason to size dirty brass. Hmmmmmm.
Abstract is offline  
Old March 3, 2007, 03:46 PM   #4
rwilson452
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 10, 2004
Location: Tioga co. PA
Posts: 2,360
The first thing I do is clean the brass. All else follows
rwilson452 is offline  
Old March 3, 2007, 08:09 PM   #5
saands
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 14, 1999
Posts: 1,563
My take is: If you clean before you deprime, then you don't have to pick crud out of primer pockets!

+1 on clean first, all else follows.

Saands
saands is offline  
Old March 3, 2007, 08:53 PM   #6
cheygriz
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 11, 2002
Location: high up in the rockies
Posts: 2,232
I clean before loading (wash in warm water and liquid tide in a Thumler's model B rotary tumbler) then again after loading, if loading bottleneck cases, in corncobs. I load on a dillon 650.

Generally, I deprime with an RCBS "universal decapping" die in the sizing station, with all other stations empty. I have a toolhead dedicated to the universal decapping die! Then I wash. Then I load. If I'm loading bottleneck case that require lubing, I tumble in corncobs anbd mineral spirits after loading.
__________________
If you think a mighty military force is expensive, wait 'til you see what a weak one costs.
cheygriz is offline  
Old March 4, 2007, 12:15 AM   #7
armedtotheteeth
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 3, 2005
Location: podunk, Texas
Posts: 1,610
Call me "Cooky" but I stick all my brass in a coffee can with Dawn and water in it. Shake a bit . Make sure you get all the dirt out. Then lube, then Size and deprime. then trim. Reason I size then trim is because if you trim to the correct length, then resize, you just made your bullet a bit longer. If you Resize your bullet, then trim, they will all be the same length. After i size them. I wash the brass again to get all the Lube out of them. Lube and brass do not mix well. The brass in the chamber needs to " grip " the chamber walls.
After you wash them, Dry them out very very very well. ( I use a hairdryer, never an oven) They are then ready to be primed, loaded and pressed and then shot.
I try to keep very close tabs on how often my brass gets shot. After every loadings, I aneal my brass with my Coleman Propane torch. Set the brass in a shallow pan of water, upright. Head the case neck up with the torch until it turns nice and orange. ( Unloaded is the best way to do this, by the way) AS soon as it is orange, push it over into the water to quicly cool. I have fire at least 10 shots through all my 300 WMag brass this way, Some have had 20 shots. Just keep inspecting them . When the Primers are to easy to seat, pitch the brass. Or better yet, make a lovely wind chime out of them to put on your front porch to deter thieves
armedtotheteeth is offline  
Old March 4, 2007, 10:48 AM   #8
Abstract
Junior member
 
Join Date: December 25, 2006
Posts: 443
Armed: I take it that you really mean "case" and not "bullet." Surely, you're not resizing your bullets??
Abstract is offline  
Old March 4, 2007, 02:40 PM   #9
CrustyFN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 4, 2006
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 2,258
I like the wind chime idea.
Rusty
__________________
I don't ever remember being absent minded.
CrustyFN is offline  
Old March 4, 2007, 04:28 PM   #10
Foxman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: August 13, 2005
Posts: 466
Armedtotheteeth, you really need to read this, http://www.6mmbr.com/annealing.html
There is no need at all to anneal every time you reload, your just making the brass weak. I shoot 300WM an get 6-10 reloads with good accuracy with no annealing.
I did used to anneal after maybe 5 reloads, but found if I used good brass there was no need. just my 02worth
Good Shooting
__________________
Better the man suspected of being a fool keep his mouth shut, than to open it and remove all doubt.
Foxman is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.08553 seconds with 9 queries