The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 13, 2000, 10:59 AM   #1
Steve Smith
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 9, 1999
Posts: 4,131
Ok, you guys know I'm going to start reloading for my M1A "loaded." I'm really going for accuracy here (plus reliability, of course). Should I use GI brass or commercial? Will it havee an affect on accuracy? If not, I'd guess the GI is better because it will last longer? Thanks in advance.
Steve Smith is offline  
Old October 13, 2000, 11:10 AM   #2
Pampers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 7, 2000
Location: In the Lost State of Franklin
Posts: 482
GI Brass will last longer IF:

You resize only enough to assure reliable functioning! DO NOT "crush the shellholder" as advised in the reloading instructions. Smoke the shoulder and adjust the seating die down only enough to "kiss" the shoulder. Now, see if the empty case will allow the bolt to close completely. If it won't, bump it a little more. When you're satisfied, load up 5 rounds and shoot 'em. If they cycle properly, you're set. If not, keep fiddling.

Leave some lube on the cases! Yes, I know that it's against the rules, but you're NOT loading Max loads (Unless you want to dammage your rifle).

By using the above methods, you should get 10 or 12 reloadings from GI brass. Follow the "rules," and the head will come off on the first or second reloading.

Now, seat the bullet (Sierra MatchKing, of course) as far out as it will go and still function through the magazine.

Good Shootin'

------------------
Fred J. Drumheller
NRA Life
NRA Golden Eagle
Pampers is offline  
Old October 13, 2000, 07:20 PM   #3
Gewehr98
Senior Member
 
Join Date: June 30, 2000
Location: Token Creek, WI
Posts: 4,068
I have to second Pampers' suggestion for not sizing the brass too much. I can't really neck size my .308 loads, because I run them interchangeably in a M14NM, BM-59, and 700PSS . I also don't squeeze them to death, only tight enough to fit the snuggest chamber of my three guns chambered in the round. I do, however, wipe down the brass, since I push my 155gr Palmas and 168gr MatchKings up there. I use Lapua 7.62x51 brass (from a Southern California police range, of all places!) Don't forget GI brass is thicker, and won't tolerate running as much powder as the more capacious commercial brass without showing pressure signs quicker.
Gewehr98 is offline  
Old October 14, 2000, 12:11 AM   #4
Steve Smith
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 9, 1999
Posts: 4,131
Is there a percentage that I should "download" the military brass? For example, with commercial cases, most folks will take a max load (with known bullet and powder) and start at 10% lower than max, working up to the best accuracy. with the Military bras, should I start at, say, 15% lower than max?
Steve Smith is offline  
Old October 14, 2000, 08:53 AM   #5
Pampers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: October 7, 2000
Location: In the Lost State of Franklin
Posts: 482
Both Accurate and Hogdon list loads specifically for GI brass. Check them out.

------------------
Fred J. Drumheller
NRA Life
NRA Golden Eagle
Pampers is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.06356 seconds with 9 queries