The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Forum Support > Site Questions and Tech Support (NO FIREARMS QUESTIONS)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 20, 2005, 09:07 PM   #1
Trip20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 21, 2005
Location: WI
Posts: 2,181
Click posters name, cannot use options in drop-down menu

When viewing a thread, and I want to click the posters name to select "Send ______ a private message" or "Send _______ an email", I come to a screen which tells me I've specified an invalid user, and to contact an administrator.

I have no problem when doing this on THR (from both my work and home PC). Additionally, I have no problem using this feature on TFL from my work PC, only my home PC.

Have I screwed up my settings somehow???

Thanks....
Trip20 is offline  
Old December 20, 2005, 11:47 PM   #2
TheBluesMan
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: June 15, 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,558
It is possible that the user you are trying to contact has chosen to not receive private messages and emails. It is also possible that they have been banned. There are a few other possibilities, but those are the most probable.

Hope this helps.

-Dave
TheBluesMan is offline  
Old December 21, 2005, 02:14 PM   #3
Trip20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 21, 2005
Location: WI
Posts: 2,181
Thanks, TheBluesMan. However, this happens when trying to use this option for any member. And not just PM'ing or emailing... anything in that drop down menu. I dunno... no issues with my work PC... and no issues when navigating THR. It only occurs on my home PC when using TFL. Weird!

If you wouldn't mind suggesting those other possibilities, I'd greatly appreciate it.
Trip20 is offline  
Old December 21, 2005, 10:04 PM   #4
TheBluesMan
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: June 15, 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,558
Unfortunately, Trip, the other possibilities are that the problem is on your end.

I suspect a browser issue. Are you running Internet Exploder and is it up-to-date? I heartily endorse Firefox if you're considering a switch.
TheBluesMan is offline  
Old December 22, 2005, 09:12 AM   #5
Trip20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: March 21, 2005
Location: WI
Posts: 2,181
Yes sir, IE is my browser at the moment. I don't disagree that the problem is on my end.

However it is interesting how my home PC (using IE) has issue with TFL, but not THR.

It's equally interesting how my work PC (using IE) has no issue with TFL or THR.

It's not a big deal. At any rate, thanks for your attention.
Trip20 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2014 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07111 seconds with 9 queries