View Single Post
Old June 1, 2012, 03:48 PM   #1
FrontSight
Senior Member
 
Join Date: September 9, 2005
Posts: 1,712
New Yorkers, help pass legal mourning dove hunting!

CONTACT EVERYONE ON THIS LIST AND ASK THEM TO SUPPORT THIS!!


All e-mails listed here for convenience:

avella@nysenate.gov
cyoung@senate.state.ny.us
espailla@nysenate.gov
grisanti@nysenate.gov
lavalle@nysenate.gov
little@nysenate.gov
marcelli@senate.state.ny.us
maziarz@nysenate.gov
ojohnson@nysenate.gov
omara@nysenate.gov
oppenhei@senate.state.ny.us
perkins@senate.state.ny.us
scousins@senate.state.ny.us
serrano@senate.state.ny.us


From: NRA-ILA Alerts [mailto:admin@nramedia.org]
Sent: Friday, June 01, 2012 4:27 PM
Subject: New York: Mourning Dove Hunting Legislation Now Pending in Senate Committee


New York: Mourning Dove Hunting Legislation Now Pending in Senate Committee

Pro-hunting legislation has been introduced in the New York Senate. Senate Bill 6968, sponsored by state Senator John A. DeFrancisco (R-50), would classify mourning doves as “migratory game birds,” ultimately allowing for the creation of a dove hunting season.

Mourning doves are the most popular and abundant game bird hunted in America and there is no biological justification to deny New Yorkers the right to hunt them. Mourning doves are regulated as migratory game birds by the federal government, but they are not classified as such by the state of New York. Because mourning doves are not classified as a “migratory game bird” species, the New York Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) is unable to establish a dove hunting season.

Currently, forty of the lower forty-eight states have mourning dove hunting seasons, and federal regulations allow states in the eastern U.S. to select seasons up to 70 days in length, between September 1 and January 15, with a daily bag limit of 15 doves. "There is no biological reason why doves could not be hunted in New York,” according to the DEC’s website. It is about time that sportsmen are provided the opportunity to hunt mourning doves in New York.

Senate Bill 6968 is currently pending in the state Senate Environmental Conservation Committee. Contact members of the Senate Environmental Conservation Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to support of S.6968!


Senate Environmental Conservation Committee

Senator Mark Grisanti (R-60), Chairman
518-455-3240
grisanti@nysenate.gov

Senator Tony Avella (D-11)
518-455-2210
avella@nysenate.gov

Senator Adriano Espaillat (D-31)
518-455-2041
espailla@nysenate.gov

Senator Owen H. Johnson (R-4)
518-455-3411
ojohnson@nysenate.gov

Senator Kenneth P. LaValle (R-1)
518-455-3121
lavalle@nysenate.gov

Senator Betty Little (R-45)
518-455-2811
little@nysenate.gov

Senator Carl L Marcellino (R-5)
518-455-2390
marcelli@senate.state.ny.us

Senator George D. Maziarz (R-62)
518-455-2024
maziarz@nysenate.gov

Senator Thomas F. O'Mara (R-53)
518-455-2091
omara@nysenate.gov

Senator Suzi Oppenheimer (D-37)
518-455-2031
oppenhei@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Bill Perkins (D-30)
518-455-2441
perkins@senate.state.ny.us

Senator José M. Serrano (D-28)
518-455-2795
serrano@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Andrea Stewart-Cousins (D-35)
518-455-2585
scousins@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Catharine Young (R-57)
518-455-3563
cyoung@senate.state.ny.us
__________________
To kill something as great as a duck just to smell the gunpowder is a crime against nature. - Alan Liere
Democracy is a device that ensures we shall be governed no better than we deserve. - George Bernard Shaw
FrontSight is offline  
 
Page generated in 0.05937 seconds with 7 queries