View Single Post
Old July 19, 2010, 02:43 PM   #49
Uzi4u2
Junior member
 
Join Date: May 15, 2010
Posts: 113
mayor daley rewrites his gun ordinance..A right is now a privilege.

If you read this you will come to realize that the mayor of chicago has rewritten our constitution. Apparently the Second Amendment is now a privilege. You are required to get a so called permit to own a firearm. How many criminals do you think this will stop from obtaining a firearm? None. Do you think they will go through all this ?

For Immediate Release Contact: Office of News Affairs
July 12, 2010 312-745-6110
City of Chicago Outlines New Firearms Ordinance Procedures
The City of Chicago's new handgun ordinance goes into effect today and the Chicago Police
Department is prepared to implement the permit and registration requirements.
The process involves two steps, beginning with the application for a Chicago Firearms Permit
(CFP), which is required in order to legally register a firearm.
While the CFP application can be downloaded from the Chicago Police Department's website
at www.chicagopolice.org, it must be submitted in person at Chicago Police Headquarters,
located at 3510 S. Michigan.
Residents must possess the following information in order to complete the CPF application:
• A valid Firearm Owner's Identification (FOID) Card issued by the State of Illinois
• Two identical passport-size photos taken in the last 30 days showing the person's full
face, head and shoulders
• A valid Driver’s License, or if the resident doesn't possess one, a letter from a licensed
optometrist or ophthalmologist attesting that the applicant meets the minimum vision
requirements to obtain an Illinois driver’s license
• A signed affidavit from a firearms instructor approved in the State of Illinois stating that
the applicant has completed a firearms safety and training course.
• A $100 application fee
All applicants must be at least 21 years old, or 18-20 years old with an eligible parents'
permission. Applicants cannot be convicted of any violent crime, have two or more offenses for
driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or under state law have been convicted of
domestic violence. Additionally, they must be fingerprinted and submit to a background check.
Add One / New Ordinance
After obtaining a Chicago Firearms Permit, residents can purchase a firearm. Residents must
then register their firearm within 5 days with the Chicago Police Department.
Only one handgun can be registered in any 30-day period. The cost is a one-time $15 fee per
firearm, and the person will be required to file an annual report.
To register a firearm the owner must provide information on the type of weapon, the
manufacturer, the serial number, where it was obtained or purchased and where the weapon
will be located.
Individuals who owned firearms prior to today, including firearms that were not registered and
multiple handguns, must apply for a CFP within 90 days.
The application for registration certificates can also be downloaded from the Chicago Police
Department's website at www.chicagopolice.org and can be submitted by mail or in person at
Chicago Police Headquarters.
Certain types of weapons cannot be registered because they are ineligible or unsafe, such as
sawed-off shotguns, .50 caliber weapons, assault weapons and certain handguns. A list of
ineligible firearms will be posted on the Chicago Police Department's website.
Residents were also reminded that it is still illegal to possess a firearm on the streets of
Chicago, which includes bringing it to Chicago Police Department headquarters to register.
Residents who currently have registered firearms with the City can wait until their current
registration expires before re-registering, but they should apply now for the CFP.
Once a firearm is registered, residents are responsible for contacting police immediately if their
firearm is lost, stolen, destroyed, sold or if there is a change in any of the information on the
registration certificate.
Anyone supplying false information on the application is subject to fines and/or arrest, with
penalties up to $5,000 and 90 days in jail for a first offense.
The entire ordinance can be reviewed on the Chicago Police Department's

Last edited by Uzi4u2; July 19, 2010 at 05:31 PM.
Uzi4u2 is offline  
 
Page generated in 0.05285 seconds with 7 queries