PDA

View Full Version : bolt release on ar15


clown714
January 27, 2002, 12:41 PM
just bought an eagle arms car
the problem is that to release
the bolt you literally have to slam
the release with the palm of your hand to
let it go home.
any quick fixes?
visual inspection doesn't look any different
from my others.thanks in advanced.

johnwill
January 27, 2002, 02:37 PM
I suspect that all it needs is some shooting. The release one a couple of my rifles was pretty stiff when they were brand new, but a few hundred rounds smooths them out. Actually, you could also just release the bolt about 100 times and accomplish the same thing. :)

clown714
January 27, 2002, 02:52 PM
john,
it,s a preban,lott'sa rounds through it.
i'm no gun magician but i was thinking along
the line,that maybe, was wore out?
or maybe needs a new pin?
thanks!

Badger Arms
January 27, 2002, 03:28 PM
It's a cheap part... replace it. Buy a new pin and release from somebody like DPMS (http://www.shooterstore.com/acb/showprod.cfm?&DID=90&CATID=508&ObjectGroup_ID=1246). If this isn't your problem, you might have some bigger problem.

johnwill
January 27, 2002, 07:12 PM
Well, if it's a well used gun, I agree with the advice to just get another one. Like Badger Arms says, they're cheap. It's hard to say what's going on without seeing the gun, but that mechanism is pretty simple, should be obvious what the problem is.

clown714
January 27, 2002, 07:50 PM
thanks all!

clown714
February 4, 2002, 04:48 PM
just installed
spring,
buffer,
pin and bolt release.
works alot easier,all the old parts looked ok.
didn't spec.any.spring looked alittle weak.
total only cost $16.
makes me feel better anyway!
thanks again!

4V50 Gary
February 4, 2002, 05:41 PM
Makes me wonder if the original bolt release was out of spec.

Badger Arms
February 5, 2002, 01:25 AM
Man, the M-16 really sucks because... :D

swampgator
February 5, 2002, 03:04 AM
....I don't have one!