PDA

View Full Version : I want to open a gun shop - How much money do I need?

scorn
January 7, 2002, 09:16 PM
I would like to open up a gun store. I am trying to sort out the basic costs. Obviously I need merchandise, I can figure that part up. But what about other costs? I need to know how many tens of thousands of dollars I am going to need to get a storefront in a small town, set up the interior, security and any hidden fees and keep it running while I get on my feet.

Any info is appreciated, I am just starting out the plan so I know very little.

Thanks!

Brian Williams
January 7, 2002, 09:20 PM
Ditto on your idea but I was also thinking about an indoor gun range. If any one has info on starting either please expound in detail on either type of shop

ViLLain
January 7, 2002, 09:36 PM
Not much money in store front operations (per hours spent). Big money is at the gun shows. Those that are successful do both. The store supports the show business and not the other way around. You'll need a cool quarter mill, lots of energy and a very serious work ethic, just to get you going. Hopefully start on an upswing.

Gabriel

scorn
January 7, 2002, 09:49 PM
Gun Shows sounds good.

I need more info on the cost of starting up the storefront though. What kinds of costs are involved. Things like racks, glass counter/cases, security etc.
Once I get the store going, doing a gun show will be easy (get some tables, throw guns on them...). The shop is going to be the tough part to set up and the most upfront expense (besides merchandise), and I have to be able to keep up that shop for maybe a year while before getting the business going.

And I will probably attach an indoor shooting range to it if I can afford it because in this area there are none.

Indy_SIG
January 7, 2002, 09:50 PM