PDA

View Full Version : Paint a mini 14 stock

popeye
November 2, 2001, 10:18 AM
I picked up a spare stock for my mini 14. I want to try painting it camo. I have no experience with this. Any suggestions? I know choate makes a fiber stock in camo but it's $80. If it doesn't turn out I'll just do overall O.D. or sand. Should I clear coat it?

Cain R
November 5, 2001, 01:44 AM
I've painted a few wood stocks, not camo just basic black. Strip the factory finnish off with 80 - 100 grit sandpaper. Duplicolor makes a very hard spray-on bed liner product in spray bombs for about 6.00 each, avialable at Wal-Mart, one can will do a single rifle easily. Hang the stock and give it about 6 light coats of paint. The finnish turns to a very light crinkle semi-gloss. After this I usually spray in two or three light coats of a high grade semi gloss laquer to seal every thing. Looks great.

Bottom Gun
November 5, 2001, 11:55 AM
I painted an AR-15 Tiger Stripe camo one time. It came out great.

First I degreased the gun with rubbing alcohol, then I sprayed it with OD paint. After the paint dried, I painted stripes on it with a wide black felt pen. It really turned out well. The paint wore well without chipping off, etc.

Later, when I got tired of it, I took the paint off using Gumout.

Wildwilley
November 6, 2001, 04:52 PM
I was a Sign painter for a bunch of years.
I started customing stocks and guns when I got hurt to pick up some extra cash.
I had air brushes but you can do the same work with spray cans.
Degrease the stock.
Add a texture if you want. You can buy those in a can and they are reasonable.
Spray at least two coats of base coat. (OD, Brown, Tan, etc.)
Get some adhesive-clear shelf plastic. Cut our a bunch of shapes and lay them on the stock. Work from light colors to dark. Finish with black.
I did a real nice real tree effect with green leaves that I sprayed with adhesive and stuck to the stock.