PDA

View Full Version : Best shotgun for home defense?

adam3
September 13, 2001, 07:20 AM
I know this has been asked before, but since I can't find it I'll ask again. Which is the best shotgun for home defense, and what is the best ammo to go with it? All replies are greatly appreciated.

I SLEEP WELL AT NIGHT KNOWING THAT 5 MILLION NRA MEMBERS ARE READY TO TAKE UP ARMS TO FIGHT AGAINST TYRANNY...FOREIGN OR DOMESTIC.

PreserveFreedom
September 13, 2001, 07:26 AM
Whichever you handle best and are most comfortable with. I know it sounds like the textbook smartass answer of the year, but it is so true.

waltherpfive
September 13, 2001, 09:56 AM
I'm new to HD shotguns and all I can tell you is what I bought. Winchester 1300 defender and #4 buck.

It's a personal thing, you need a trip to the gun shop. Look at all of them, pump and auto, then decide what's best for you.

Cody
September 13, 2001, 10:02 AM
I have the Winchester mdl 1300 Defender. It has a 22" Barrel with rifled sights loaded with #6 Birdshot followed by a couple of 00 Buckshot sitting in the corner of my bedroom. It is a pump action and I must say the pump action is as smooth as silk:) . The gun could serve several purposes that is why I got it. You could use it as a trail/guide gun up in the mountains. Use it as a camp gun and even use it to hunt upland game. It comes with an Improved Cylinder.

If you want a shotgun just for home defense any short barrelled shotgun from any reputable manufacturer would serve you well.

Cody...

jb26
September 13, 2001, 10:13 AM
Haven't you asked this before:firingline (http://thefiringline.com/forums/search.php?s=&action=showresults&searchid=62167&sortby=lastpost&sortorder=descending)

Dave McC
September 13, 2001, 11:43 AM
Adam, the Archives here can be mined for days. Lots of input, and lots of experience.

I'll give you a few thoughts, tho.