PDA

View Full Version : What size barrel should be used fr these games?

S.F.S
August 27, 2001, 12:32 PM
I am new to shotgun sports and would like to know what size barrel should be used for shooting trap, sporting clays also skeet and the 5 stand?
I am currently using an 870 Express Mag. with a 28" barrel for eveything except skeet, but I have not tried that game yet since where I shoot don't offer it.
I plan on getting a semi-auto in about 6 months and would like to know what size barrel should I look for?
Also what exactly is the difference between a field gun and a skeet model?
I was told the difference is target guns usually shoot high while field guns shoot where they are pointed, Is that true?
Thanks

Dave McC
August 27, 2001, 12:49 PM
Partly true,Steve. Trap guns are stocked to shoot high,since all trap targets are taken on the rise. Skeet and SCs are not.

The differences between field and gamer guns are myriad, but oft subtle.Gamer guns run heavier, often a lb or so.

You'll see field guns without a midbead or even a rib,but never a competition gun.

You can and will have an awful amount of fun with that 870, and will likely become quite proficient with it. The day will come when you outshoot some guy with a Perazzi, K-gun, Ljutic, etc. Be modest and humble, do not gloat until after you're alone(G)...

A 28" bbl will work fine for all the games. Game guns tend to be slightly longer than field equivalents, but the difference is minor.

HTH.......

S.F.S
August 27, 2001, 01:18 PM
Dave,
My name is Scott not Steve...LOL..

I was out shooting clays last week and an experienced shooter was giving me some pointers and mentioned that I should keep the bead over the bird since the 870 is a field gun and it wont shoot high. He was saying that with guns designed for skeet, clays and trap you want to keep the bead underneath the bird.