PDA

View Full Version : Just ordered a Benneli Nova deer slugger...

john1932
August 24, 2001, 04:14 AM
My Gun dealer talked me into buying it yesterday and I hope I made the right decision. I got the recoil reduction package option with it hopeing it will make shooting it a little less stressfull. I had to have a shotgun to hunt up in Michigans farm lands where a freind of mine has 100 acres of pristine hunting land. I was going to get a auto loader but I didn't want to spend 1000 dollars and another 200 for a bird barrel so I bought the Benelli for 550 plus the recoil package for an additional 80 and will buy a bird barrel for it sometime soon. Next I will scope it out and throw a sling on it. Then its off to the range to sight it in. I could use some advice on a scope and some feedback from Benelli owners to see if I made a good choice. Thanks for any replys.. John

Dave McC
August 24, 2001, 05:46 AM
John, I've no experience with Benellis, but have heard little negative stuff about them. They do not have the recoil reducing effect that gas autos do.

As for scopes.....

Cheaper scopes do not hold up well on shotguns. I'd try for a Leopold Variable, a lower power one like the 1-4X, or a fixed magnification no greater than 2 1/2X.Slug hunting's usually close and often quite sudden, and too much magnification is way worse than not enough in the conditions found in most whitetail habitat.

There's old threads about sighting in slug guns in the Archives. If you do not get answers there, sing out...

Kernel
August 24, 2001, 11:46 AM
John,

Congrats on the new Benelli. For a scoping a deer shotgun I'm a big believer in red dot sights for a number of reasons:

1. A dot sight lets you get on target fast - put the glowing red spot on target and shoot.