PDA

View Full Version : Need Skeet O/U advice....

madison46
August 14, 2001, 03:58 PM
I just got a Beretta A 390 30" brl semi-auto. 4 chokes, full, Mod, IC, & Skeet. My trap rounds went from 18's to the 22-23's. Great gun. I tried Skeet the for the first time and maybe got an 8. I'm new to this, but have since decided golf is not nearly as much fun.........

Anyway, someone mentioned that a shorter brl is prefered on Skeet. The local store has a used Citori for $850 with fixed Mod/Light Mod chokes. Not sure this is what I would want if I go skeet. Are there any good 12ga 26-28" brl O/U Skeet shotguns priced between $0-$1100? Or any other suggestions ? The Citori came up and online so nice I could have died...as did the Beretta Featherlight (?). But the Featherlight I was told would be better hunting as is light and would beat me shooting sporting rounds.

Thanks for any help.

K80Geoff
August 14, 2001, 04:28 PM
Short barrels are not necessarily necessary for skeet. I shoot skeet with my 30" O/U with no problems.

The Beretta should be adequate for skeet, if you use the skeet choke. If it is set up as a trap gun it may shoot high so you will have to learn to adjust or get a second stock that you can put on for skeet. Have you tested the point of impact on a pattern board? Check it and see where you patterns are hitting. You may be shooting high and thus missing at skeet.

Gun fit, Gun fit, Gun Fit. It all boils down to Gun Fit.

The fixed Mod chokes will be far too tight for skeet, skeet chokes are called skeet for a reason:) Generally fixed chokes are not desirable, which is probably why this gun is for sale. 26" barrels are kinda short, although some people prefer them for skeet. 28" are more the norm with some shooting 30"