PDA

View Full Version : Headspaceing bolt/carrier in AR10


Benchrest1000
March 16, 2001, 09:47 AM
Folks,

What is involved with headspaceing the bolt in and AR10 rifle? Can this be done by any decent gunsmith? Does the bolt have to be modified in any way? I know the carrier does not get touched, just the bolt. What might they have to do to it? Thanks,

BR

dZ
March 16, 2001, 01:29 PM
the system is the same as in an AR15

the barrel extension and the bolt are unadjustable.

The routine is try a new bolt
if that doesn't do it
try a new barrel with the old bolt

a new barrel and a new bolt must HS correctly
or there is problems in manufacturing dimensions

dZ

Benchrest1000
March 16, 2001, 03:40 PM
DZ,

So what you are saying is this is a go or no go situation. The reason I asked this question is that I just purchased a 243 Upper for my AR10T. I do not wish to use my current bolt/carrier for my 308 upper in the 243. It seems more convenient to just purchase another bolt/carrier group, especially since they are now on sale. Is this as simple as having a gunsmith use a headspace gauge on it? Just a simple safety check to make certain that manufacturing didn't mess up things? Thanks,

BR

Willy
March 16, 2001, 10:18 PM
BR 1000,
Yep.