PDA

View Full Version : Semi-Auto Rifle Question

Microscope
November 2, 2012, 05:41 PM
Hi there,

I know you get a lot of these kinds of questions, but personally, I never get bored reading them.

Semi-auto Rifle - .223 or 5.56
Very reliable, easy maintenance, cleaning, upkeep
Reasonably accurate (max 350 yrds primary use)
Easy to find & fairly priced parts, accessories, ammo, support, etc
Relatively lower recoil and front rise.
In the range of $1000-2000 - preference is new but recent used too.
Pest control, plinking, SHTF scenario

2damnold4this
November 2, 2012, 06:23 PM
I'd get some sort of AR. You might be ok with a Mini 14 but I think an AR is easier to clean and accessorize.

Microscope
November 2, 2012, 06:26 PM
Could you offer more specific models within AR category?
I'm fairly new to this so it would be helpful for me.
Thx

sgms
November 2, 2012, 07:51 PM
I believe you had better start by getting the list of what you can own before trying to get a rifle. I am under the impression that the list is currently under going a reworking and that Canada restricts all of the AR-15 style rifles including the .22 rimfires. Once you find out what you can own it will be a lot easier to make a suggestions.

barnbwt
November 2, 2012, 11:00 PM
Are AR and AK pattern guns still not allowed in Canada? I know the VZ58 is available as an alternative to the AK up there, and Czechpoint recently came out with a version in .223/5.56. I don't know if they are distributing up there but it's likely they could be allowed considering their design is derived from neither AK nor AR.

Good luck,

TCB

cecILL
November 3, 2012, 07:13 AM
If no ARs, the Ranch Rifle sounds like it would meet your needs.
There is a fair amount of after market "junk" made for it, too.

Microscope
November 3, 2012, 09:06 AM
Don't worry about Canadian regulations.
I will take all your suggestions and ask the local experts which ones match closest within regulations here.
So fire away. :D

BPowderkeg