PDA

View Full Version : Garand

yoter
August 19, 2012, 10:07 AM
Hi everyone. This is a rather generic question. I am very seriously considering adding an M-1 Garand to my collection. First - where would you recommend getting one from? If I order from CMP, which grade do you recommend? Secondly - is there anything I need to be aware of when ordering or buying? And, lastly - how satisfying is the "ping" when the clip is ejected?

I am not made of money, I am a history teacher...so my limit is under "a grand", and I have never fired a Garand before. Any advice or guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone!

plouffedaddy
August 19, 2012, 10:41 AM
http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l178/tiffani33/Guns/IMAG1217.jpg
http://i96.photobucket.com/albums/l178/tiffani33/Guns/IMAG1219.jpg

Springfield service grade above from CMP. Just to give you an idea of how they show up...

THORN74
August 19, 2012, 10:48 AM
i just recently got a M1 garand from CMP (june) ... i picked a service grade with no special requests. What i got was a 1942 Springfield Armory with a 6 digit serial #. i love it!!!! i purchased 200 rounds at the same time. I reload so i likely wont order more ammo, but cmp had the cheapest 30-06 i have seen, so stock up on that too.

http://i1048.photobucket.com/albums/s372/THORN74/20120605_162434.jpg

Fishbed77
August 19, 2012, 04:12 PM
There's no better value than a CMP Service Grade Garand. Here is my 1944 Service Grade Springfield Armory rifle (with a like-new 1954 Springfield barrel) that I received in June from the CMP.

http://i1235.photobucket.com/albums/ff427/Fishbed77/DSC_0128.jpg

http://i1235.photobucket.com/albums/ff427/Fishbed77/DSC_0120-1.jpg

http://i1235.photobucket.com/albums/ff427/Fishbed77/DSC_0122.jpg

http://i1235.photobucket.com/albums/ff427/Fishbed77/DSC_0125.jpg

http://i1235.photobucket.com/albums/ff427/Fishbed77/DSC_0050.jpg

Mac Sidewinder
August 19, 2012, 05:47 PM