PDA

View Full Version : Castle Nut Pliers for M1A


'88Scrat
August 8, 2012, 05:35 PM
The title pretty well sums it up actually. I just got my Sage stock from Clyde Armory and was all excited to drop my Scout into it when I got all the way to removing the flash suppressor and didn't have the %#^@* pliers...

I'm open to suggestions of improvization but thinking at the moment I'll just wait a couple days to get the pliers from MidwayUSA.

hardhat harry
August 8, 2012, 06:07 PM
Wait.

44 AMP
August 9, 2012, 09:49 PM
get the pliers, or a proper size spanner (hook spanner wrench).

And DON'T forget about the setscrew!!!

SR420
August 10, 2012, 06:53 AM
Since 2004 I have installed many rifles in SAGE EBRs and I've never used castle nut pliers, I don't own any.

I back off the set screw and use the roll pin punch I have for the op rod guide pin and a small hammer to gently tap the castle nut loose.

This method has never let me down and it has not caused any damage to the castle nuts.


I hope that helps.

30Cal
August 11, 2012, 08:45 AM
When I got mine rebarrelled, my guy skipped the setscrew and loctited the castlenut in place. There's a school of thought that a tight dogscrew applies an uneven stress at the end of the barrel; it's common for it to be backed off a turn and loctited there or just left out of the equation altogether.

44 AMP
August 14, 2012, 02:09 PM
As far as I know, the point of the setscrew is to keep the castle nut from coming loose to the point where the sight assembly can be mis-aligned with the bore. While it would be very unusual for the nut to loosen, the setscrew just means insurance.

Usually, the screw will be between the lugs on the nut, and need not be tightened to bear on the nut, (so no tension on the barrel) its just there so the nut can only move a little bit, IF it comes loose.

I might be wrong, and if I am, please, enlighten me.