PDA

View Full Version : Best AR-15 Under $800?

Surgical Precision
June 24, 2012, 09:36 PM
Hello,

I just joined TFL to get advice on a carry gun and I also would like to get direction on a AR-15. For under $800, here's what I'm looking at:

Stag Arms
M&P Sport
Olympic Arms
DPMS Oracle
Bushmaster

Of what's listed, what's my best option??

Justice06RR
June 24, 2012, 11:01 PM
Bushmaster, Stag Arms, and M&P sport are your best choices out of those.

I would stay away from DPMS if possible. It seems some of their AR15's are a bit on the lower quality from what i've seen.

Some people say that Olympic Arms is decent, but don't have any experience in those.

doofus47
June 24, 2012, 11:09 PM
I have a Bushmaster upper. I'm happy with it.

BillyJack3
June 25, 2012, 10:18 AM
Top 2 choices are good to go. M&P Sport has been seen for $599 in some places. M&P OR for $800 and M&P T for $850. Kind of goes against the grain as I saw each of these for a lot more just a month or so ago.

dos0711
June 25, 2012, 02:25 PM
Windham Weaponry SRC...$799 and a lifetime warranty.

tahunua001
June 25, 2012, 03:44 PM
pre-cerberus DPMS rifles are good. mine is sub MOA and is a workhorse. apparently though freedom group ruined the name. now remington, bushmaster and DPMS are all cookies from the same cutter just some are kept in fancier jars. bushmaster might not be a good choice just because of that.

Stag has always been a good medium tier company and if you can find one for sub $800 then you are golden.

smith and wesson is kindof a newcomer to the AR 15 world but they established a cult following overnight. whether that is due to the quality or if people just jump on the S&W bandwagon, I dont know but a lot of people claim they are hard to beat.

I've always heard bad things about olympic but every time I bring that up I usually get flamed so I'll just plead the 5th on them.

jmr40
June 25, 2012, 04:18 PM