PDA

View Full Version : Scope base… to +20 MOA or not.


Jerry45
April 10, 2012, 08:24 PM
I’m going to (order) install a one-piece scope base on my Remington 700 06. I need to move the scope a little further back (eye relief) than the two piece mounts will allow. So my quandary is… Do I get a flat mount or a +20 MOA? They're the same price. Will I ever shoot to 1000 yards? Who knows! But I don’t see any disadvantage in getting the +20 even if I never really need it. Or is there something I need to know that I don’t?

WWWJD
April 10, 2012, 08:54 PM
There's no downside to it, unless you've got a weird scope that holds a high zero, and won't have the room to adjust up enough to make up for the 20 minute shift... or... you just zero further out.

Errr... I can't really think of a downside. EGW 0 minute and 20 minute cost the same.

Hello123
April 10, 2012, 08:54 PM
With the 20 moa scope base, if you are shooting less than 500-600 yards, they aren't necessary. If you have a 1 inch diameter scope tube, sometimes they are hard to get a 200 yard zero secondary to the scope running out of adjustment. I would get the plain base. If you get into 1000 yard shooting, you can buy the other base.

Jerry45
April 10, 2012, 09:08 PM
Spoken like a man with a truly endless budget. ;)

The scope(s) has a 30 mm. tube. 10-40 X 50 and a 4-16 X 55. As of now I’m zeroed at 100. If necessary 2 MOA high at 100 would be no big deal and would give me zero at 200. If the scope will bring POA dow that low. I'll have to dial the scopes down and see how much ajustment I have. I should have 20+ but don't know off the top of my head.

zoomie
April 10, 2012, 09:20 PM
The downside is that it can mess up your cheekweld. You might want to look into an adjustable comb.

Jerry45
April 10, 2012, 09:36 PM
I was wondering about that. I have a thumbhole stock. Bare stock I’m a little low so I have a pad. With the pad I’m center.

http://i.ebayimg.com/t/HUNTING-Butt-Stock-SNIPER-Rifle-Ammo-Cheek-Rest-DESERT-COYOTE-TAN-/00/s/NTAwWDUwMA==/$(KGrHqJ,!g4E6ZKEV7CDBOpc3-3mS!~~60_12.JPG

Jerry45
April 10, 2012, 10:04 PM
I know everyone likes pictures. Me too! So here is basicely what the gun looks like. High mounts have been swopped out for medium height and the LimbSavor is no longer on the stock. I'll have to take some new shots soon.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff155/germil1/700BDLMuzzleBrake2A.jpg

Hello123
April 11, 2012, 03:04 PM
People that shoot long range shoot frequently. It is expensive. I guess I don't see $40 as a make or break decision. I would put a set a leupold rings on with zero cant.

Jerry45
April 11, 2012, 07:15 PM
Come on guy didn’t you see the ;). I was messing with you. The scope basses are $32.00 and no that won’t break the bank. I just don’t feel like buying one base now and if I have the chance to reach out have to buy another if I don’t have to. That $32.00 can buy another toy.

Just so happens there was a guy at the range today with a flat base. I asked if iit was +20 MOA. He said no but he had +20 MOA on other rifles. He verified that a 1” scope doesn’t have enough adjustment to zero for 100 yards but says with my 30 mm. tube there shouldn't be a problem. I’m going to take a chance and order to +20.

Jerry45
April 11, 2012, 08:07 PM
Just ordered the +20 MOA hope it works. I forgot to check the scope first. :o

Hello123
April 13, 2012, 07:30 PM
should be fine:)

Jerry45
April 13, 2012, 08:23 PM
Supposed to be here Monday. I’ll try to get it mounted and get the range either Wednesday or Thursday. If not it’ll be the following week. I'll post up how it works.

Jerry45
April 18, 2012, 10:32 PM
20 MOA base works. Installed it last night and went to the range today. I put the laser bore sight in and noted where the dot was in the scope at about 30 yrds. before swapping out the base, then I dialed the scope in to the dot after the swap and ajusting the eye relief. Went to the range today and it zeroed it at 100 yrds.

Now all I need is place to reach out and touch something. :D

The base is actually higher than the two piece base that was on the rifle so rather than having to remove the pad I actually had to add a piece of foam under it.

Edit to add: Just went in the shop and installed a set of low rings. Bolt clears the scope and I can dump the foam and I’m pretty sure the pad too. :)

Jerry45
April 20, 2012, 12:03 PM
Here it is. Still need pad.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff155/germil1/Rem700A.jpg