PDA

View Full Version : Home defense revolver (first bought gun)

C.M.Burns
March 12, 2012, 08:01 PM
Hi everyone,

First post here. I am a rather novice shooter I guess, as I have not owned my own gun. I have family that work and own a local gun shop and range near me and have been shooting for the past 2 years ever since I went one day and got the serious itch. Since day one, I go at most once every 2 weeks.

Been shooting lots of different guns but feel most comfortable with revolvers, most recently worked into some S&W 629 in 4 inch barrel and was having some serious fun.

I am buying my first gun, a revolver most likely, for home defense and just wanted some opinions. I am moving into a row home in a not-so-nice area. Would a 44 be too much? I am going to be living in a row home and some of the guys at the counter told me too much lead going too fast is going to go through walls.

The best revolver I have shot so far was a S&W 627, 4 inch 357 magnum 8 shooter. It was really beefy and solid and I like the idea of having a few extra shots, even though I know 1 or 2 would scare most.

I should also mention this will be my back up weapon to a Rem. 870 shotgun which my dad gave as a gift last year. This revolver will mostly be for practice at the range and also because I will not have free rental costs at my family owned range (going to go broke...) so ammo costs are also swimming through my head

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

C.M.Burns

Webleymkv
March 12, 2012, 08:23 PM
Nearly any common handgun cartridge will be capable of penetrating multiple interior walls in a modern house (sheetrock and pine 2x4's). While the recoil of a .44 Magnum may be a bit much for most people to be able to shoot both quickly and accurately, a .44 Magnum revolver can also chamber and fire .44 Special ammunition which, ballistically, is quite similar to .45 ACP, and will offer lower recoil, flash, and report.