PDA

View Full Version : Chokes for Grouse

Flapjack23
November 9, 2011, 05:00 PM
I'm new to having the option of 2 chokes in a shotgun for birds. Citori White Lightning under the tree this year (actually in the safe, but...). I'm thinking for the thick north Michigan woods in search of Grouse I should be looking at a skeet choke in the under barrel and an IC in the over. Most shots should be 20 yds or less. Any other combos I should think about? Other thoughts?

Andy

oneounceload
November 9, 2011, 05:04 PM
If you get shots that far (20 yards) on grouse, then your combo is perfect, otherwise Cylinder and Skeet will also work - depending on the climate and temps, make your shot larger - say 6 or 5 for your second shot

BigJimP
November 9, 2011, 05:55 PM
Choke for the kill range.../ or what choke will give you the 30" pattern and the density - at the kill range you want...

So at 20 yds - 25 yds ....Skeet / Imp Cycl will work fine ...or maybe Skeet/Skeet or even IC/IC depending on what you have for chokes.

At 25 yrds - 30 yds I'd go IC/Mod or maybe IC/Light Mod if I had it.

Because you may get some areas with longer shots...I'd usually carry a couple of Skeet, a couple of IC's, a couple of Mods and an Improved Mod ...in a plastic tackle box in my vest.

thinkingman
November 9, 2011, 06:16 PM
I bought some 20ga 1oz 8's for grouse and quail.
Been very effective inside of 10yds...not much experience out farther.
My theory is smaller shot=denser pattern given the choke.
I may be technically flawed but the birds have dropped deader than dead.

jrothWA
November 9, 2011, 08:30 PM
ordered specifically for skeet and grouse, the chokes are SK1 & SK2.

Have used for Pheasant over dog (mine) and 3" mags for late birds.s

With tube you can adjust and you think.

rbursek
November 9, 2011, 11:39 PM