PDA

View Full Version : 37 mm launcher :)


customaquatics
November 7, 2011, 04:01 PM
were going to get ready to heavy modify my AK-47 an the gun shop said something bout a underbarrel launcher. im in illinois an i don't believe we need the license to have one. an were would we be able to buy one at?

customaquatics
November 7, 2011, 04:08 PM
http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/pid=43848/Product/37MM-FLARE-LAUNCHERS-KAOS-STOCK-SYSTEMS thats the only site i've found that sells them.

chack
November 7, 2011, 04:11 PM
No federal license is required, but illinois has pretty restrictive laws compared to anywhere in Dixie.

I had one years ago. it was a toy, and a relatively expensive toy to play with.

I would like to get a Short barrel 12 ga pump shotgun to mount under an AR, that would have real utility with buckshot, flares, or other specialty rounds.

Willie Lowman
November 7, 2011, 04:12 PM
If it is a flare launcher you don't need any license (unless your state requires it, each state is different) If it will fire bullets or any deadly projectile it is a Destructive Device and must have the tax stamp to go with it.




http://www.ftfindustries.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=FI&Product_Code=ET-37SS7M203-AK&Category_Code=37MM

customaquatics
November 7, 2011, 04:16 PM
willie how does that attach? to the rails? but it looks like it screws on?

meatgrinder42
November 7, 2011, 04:23 PM
They can either mount up on a rail or you can clamp them to the barrel (of an AR anyway) with the M203 fore grip. I've looked into them a few times and intend to buy one when I start trying to put together a clone of my old service rifle.

customaquatics
November 7, 2011, 04:27 PM
cause i want to do the rail mount if i can along with a grip. but it looks so long i prolly wont be able to do the grip. i just cant wait to get my AK done an see the looks i get at the range!

meatgrinder42
November 7, 2011, 04:32 PM
The one that Willie posted says it clamps around the barrel and gas tube.

customaquatics
November 7, 2011, 04:36 PM
what would be a more secure way to attach it? to the barrel or the or a rail?

Superhouse 15
November 29, 2011, 08:47 AM
I had a full sized one that attached to the barrel with a clamp and two aluminum spacers, and it walked forward every time I shot more than a few rounds. I had fabricated various replacment clamps that mostly worked but I eventually sold it because of PITA factor.

Skans
November 29, 2011, 10:01 AM
I'd mount it to the rails, if possible. The barrel mount is nearly impossible to secure. That's just my experience. I have one - phase I went through. Phase is over and I have no use for the heavy flare launcher.