PDA

View Full Version : New Gun Log app for the iPhone

sirgilligan
June 24, 2011, 08:54 AM
I received an "OK" from the moderators to post about my new iPhone app called Gun Log.

It is a general purpose app that could be used to store information about your BB guns, Pistols, Revolvers, Rifles, and even Shot Guns. The range information is not really geared towards shotguns.

There are four areas (four tabs at the bottom of the app) the Weapons, Ammo, Sessions, and Reports areas.

I wrote this app for me back in April and decided to put it on the App store. I use all the areas of the app but you can use the areas independently if you want.

Maybe you trade guns a lot. In the Weapons section you can keep specific information include purchase information and notes. You could have handy what you paid for it, from whom you bought it, etc.

Being a programmer I am a bit cautious when it comes to data theft. The app doesn't use the GPS or location manager. If you don't lock your iPhone or iPod Touch then I don't recommend entering the weapon's serial number. If you are concerned (and that is your business) then don't enter the Make of the weapon, just give the Weapon a nick name that means something to you and use that.

The ammo area allows you to keep track of "off the shelf" ammo or hand loads. Maybe you just want to keep some details of your hand loads so that when you are at the range or in the field you can look at your box of ammo and see the lot number you have placed on it and look up the ammo and see what powder, primer, etc., that was used and when you made the ammo. If you have used the ammo you can see how it performed as well.

I hate typing on these little devices, so I went to a bit of effort and gathered information on weapons manufacturers, ammunition makers, reloading supplies, etc., and put them in what are known as "pickers" so you don't have to type that stuff in. I typed it once so I (and you) won't have to type it again.