PDA

View Full Version : How do I use the "quote" feature?


tpcollins
May 13, 2011, 09:11 AM
I've checked my profile and everything I can think of but I can't figure out how to use the "quote" feature - can someone help? Thanks.

aarondhgraham
May 13, 2011, 09:14 AM
Select and copy the text from the original post,,,
Paste it into your post,,,
Select the text again,,,
Click the "Wrap {Quote} tags around selected text" icon (between the image icon and the # sign)

Aarond

tpcollins
May 13, 2011, 09:21 AM
Select and copy the text from the original post,,,
Paste it into your post,,,
Select the text again,,,
Click the "Wrap {Quote} tags around selected text" icon (between the image icon and the # sign)

huh . . .

tpcollins
May 13, 2011, 09:23 AM
Select and copy the text from the original post,,,
Paste it into your post,,,
Select the text again,,,
Click the "Wrap {Quote} tags around selected text" icon (between the image icon and the # sign

Ah . . . got it, thanks.

Don P
May 13, 2011, 09:26 AM
Next time to help the mods questions like this should be asked in the section site questions and support

BikerRN
May 13, 2011, 09:35 AM
How do I use the "quote" feature?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've checked my profile and everything I can think of but I can't figure out how to use the "quote" feature - can someone help? Thanks.

Like this?

I didn't know how to use the quote feature myself and have been putting " " around stuff I quoted. This will make things easier.

Biker

That'll Do
May 13, 2011, 09:36 AM
If you want to get fancy, and add the name of the member you're quoting to the text, do the following:

Select the text you want to quote, and after clicking the quote button, do the following to the first "[.QUOTE]" box:

Sample text:

[.QUOTE]I own a 1911.[./QUOTE]

Modified version

[.QUOTE=That'll Do] I own a 1911.[./QUOTE]

Basically, you add an equal sign, and the name you want to display. (The text does not need to be bold, I just did that for clarity). Note: Don't add a period in the bracketed text, I'm only doing that so you can see what to add.

Here's what it looks like when done:

I own a 1911.

Modified version

I own a 1911.

Mal H
May 13, 2011, 09:40 AM
All of this is covered in this sticky thread: http://thefiringline.com/forums/showthread.php?t=323215

As Don pointed out, we have a Site Questions forum (where we are now).

Testing of any feature should be done in the Software Test forum.

Closed.