PDA

View Full Version : Kobra scope question


neverenoughguns
April 23, 2011, 04:17 PM
I have a Kobra scope that I am working on a trade for.... the problem is, when I take it outside, the dot/cross wash out entirely. (Can not find it). I have the unit turned up all the way and this one seems to take AA batteries. I have regular AA batteries in it (new batteries). Any suggestions? Is this common w/ the Kobras?

wogpotter
April 23, 2011, 07:47 PM
Not with mine. I've never had a problem with the reticule on the brightest day unless the battery ( button type, not AA ) was about dead.

w748
April 24, 2011, 11:16 PM
Are you sure you don't have the earlier version that takes 2 of the 3.6v batteries? They are the same size as AA. I never have to turn my AA version up all the way , even on the brightest blue sky day.
My AA version does not have a dot/cross reticle but my 3.6v did.

neverenoughguns
April 25, 2011, 06:00 AM
Not sure at all. There were no instructions with the scope. Please tell me more about the batteries that you referenced. What is the battery number/nomenclature that I need to go buy these batteries? How many do I need? Thank you!

neverenoughguns
April 25, 2011, 06:01 AM
This scope goes from dot to cross to dot w/ cross to cross to dot. Is this an earlier version?

wogpotter
April 25, 2011, 07:41 AM
It sounds like it might be.
Mine is "3Rd. Gen" I guess:confused: as it takes a single 3v button type battery.
The reticule choices are dot only, chevron only, chevron with dot & open "T". There are 11 stages for brightness.
Does yours look like this?
http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h29/moosp/DSCF6359.jpg

http://i60.photobucket.com/albums/h29/moosp/DSCF6406.jpg

Sorry about the fuzzy pic.

w748
April 25, 2011, 11:25 AM
Those are the reticle choices my "gen1" Kobra had,later versions have the chevron options mentioned above.
I no longer have the "gen1" sight so I can't give you a battery # but if you google "3.6v AA battery" you should get plenty of info. You need 2 , just like the AAs you're using and they go in the same way. Locally the Batterys Plus store has them but they are $9 each. Best price I've found was on an ebay store from someone in Utah, they were $6 each delivered.Do a search ; there were over a dozen different vendors.
These are good mil spec sights overall and should serve you well! Don't remember the exact run time I got but it was over 1000 hrs. Once you get the clamp adjusted to your rail they return to zero perfectly.
Let us know how you do!

neverenoughguns
April 25, 2011, 11:41 AM
There were AA batteries when it arrived (used) from the seller. Do you think putting the 3.6v batteries would blow it if it was really supposed to only have the AA batteries? Were there gen1 units that really took the AA batteries? I don't think there are markings on the unit for the type batteries, only a plus and minus symbol...

wogpotter
April 25, 2011, 01:58 PM
There is a "get you out of trouble" option for the 3.6v batteries.
Duracell & others make a battery called an "N" cell, basically a short "AA", you could pick up a pair of them from any local store such as Radio Shack, gang them nose-to-tail for the 3v power & test that way. A standard “AA” battery is 17 x 50 mm. An “N” cell is 12 x 30.2 so you’d need to fabricate at least a temporary (longer) adapter cap, rubber band maybe?. There might be a little fudging (or dare I say it a permanent adapter) to allow a more economical battery replacement. Amazon has "N" 2-packs for $5.00.

I've done tricks like this with older electronic equipment a whole lot & all you need is the correct (or sightly lower) voltage in a package that will allow a home-made adapter to be fabricated.

neverenoughguns
April 25, 2011, 07:57 PM
Bought the batteries at Radio Shack for $19 for the two. Kinda steep but what are you going to do.... I am hoping they will last alot longer than the AA version but time will tell. Lets see, I will probably take it to the range once a year so.... Now, does anyone have a source for the sight adjustment tool or a spare sunshade?

wogpotter
April 25, 2011, 08:37 PM
The original "combination tool" No.
You can get something called a "circlip plier" from any decent tool supply place & use that for adjusting the windage & elevation turrets to zero if they are the same as mine with the center knobs with the 2 small holes?

w748
May 3, 2011, 06:30 PM
So how are the 3.6v batteries working?

neverenoughguns
May 3, 2011, 08:06 PM
Seems to be working great! Have not had the opportunity to go to the range but the sight no longer washes out when in bright sunlight:)