PDA

View Full Version : Question about M1A and ammo

nc eyedoc
April 2, 2011, 10:12 PM
My father gave me an old military M1A rifle. It is stamped 7.62 and Springfield Armory. I have little experience with rifles, but I have read conflicting information about ammo. Some people say it is ok to shoot .308 ammo. Others say that that could be a problem with a M1A and to only use old army surplus 7.62. I'd love to have a definitive answer to what is ok to use. Honestly, I've been afraid to even shoot it so far. TIA.

csmsss
April 2, 2011, 10:15 PM
An M-1A is not a military rifle. It is a strictly civilian copy of the M-14 manufactured by Springfield, frequently made with actual M-14 GI parts (occasionally even the receiver), but is not the same rifle as it cannot be made selective fire.

As far as the "difference" between .308 and 7.62 NATO, it is insignificant and you can fire either in your rifle.

nc eyedoc
April 2, 2011, 10:20 PM
That's good to know. My father got the rifle from his brother, and I just assumed it was ex-military. Thanks. Off to the range soon ;)

csmsss
April 2, 2011, 11:24 PM
Well, that's an awfully nice gift - especially if it's of older manufacture, when more of the parts were sourced from surplus GI stock.

DnPRK
April 2, 2011, 11:48 PM
M-1A, like the M-14, was designed to use medium burning rate powders. Commercial ammo that duplicates 147gr FMJ M80 ball will be safe as will 168 and 175 gr match ammo.