PDA

View Full Version : Report of Worn Holster causing AD

beequick
March 29, 2011, 11:14 PM
This article certainly made me double check all my leather holsters

http://www.itstactical.com/warcom/firearms/safety-warning-worn-leather-holsters-can-cause-accidental-discharges/

FrankenMauser
March 29, 2011, 11:43 PM
Failure to maintain or replace equipment is not the fault of the equipment that fails.

beequick
March 29, 2011, 11:44 PM
Very true. This was just a warning to make sure all your equipment is in good working order

45Gunner
March 30, 2011, 12:28 AM
I recently acquired a holster that fits outside the waistband but inside the belt. However, it is made of Kydex so I doubt that this would happen but it is good to know so I can keep an eye on it.

I have been wearing leather holsters for over 40 years. One in particular gets worn nearly every day for the past 15 years and is just a rigid as the day I purchased it. I have never put any leather treatment on it nor any type of oils. Once a year or so, I may put a very light touch of shoe polish on it to hide some of the scuffs.

Most leather holster manufacturers advise/warn against treating the holster like a baseball glove that recommends some type of oil treatment. I am curious if you used any type of oil, leather softener, or water proofing agent?

Wildalaska
March 30, 2011, 12:52 AM
Only with a Glock. Reading that and looking at the pics, a 1911 or revolver wouldnt have gone off.

WildgeewatchtheglockophilescomeoutAlaska ™©2002-2011

FTG-05
March 30, 2011, 07:43 AM
"A warning to those that are idiots" is more like it.

Rifleman1776
March 30, 2011, 08:18 AM
He should have known it wasn't in the holster properly. Don't blame the holster, the wearer is at fault. If I saw that area getting soft I would cut it away. It is obvious this wasn't the first time that area got creased. He was careless. Period.

CWKahrFan
March 30, 2011, 08:21 AM
Jeepers creepers... Another thing to know about... Thanks for the link!