PDA

View Full Version : Slugs in a normal barrel?


MrDontPlay
March 23, 2011, 05:07 PM
I just got a maverick 88 and I'm wanting to shoot some slugs out of this thing. It's got a screw in choke so do I need to change it out for a bigger one? What choke would be big enough to shoot slugs?

jmr40
March 23, 2011, 05:19 PM
With regular lead slugs you should be able to use any of the choke tubes. Generally the more open chokes work best,but you will not hurt the gun with either the modified or full choke tube. Most get better accuracy with cylinder, or improved cylinder. An extra full turkey tube probably is not a good idea.

MrDontPlay
March 23, 2011, 05:24 PM
Thanks for the info, I'll have to look and see what I have

MrDontPlay
March 24, 2011, 06:21 PM
The only numbers on my choke are .665 is this too tight. I wanna shoot skeet and play around with slugs and buck shot.

nutty ned
March 24, 2011, 09:38 PM
I just use full; but, most will suggest mod.

44 AMP
March 24, 2011, 10:57 PM
Traditionally, "slug guns" have cylinder bores (no choke). However, the standard Foster type slug is designed to be able to squeeze through any choke, including full, without damaging the gun. Accuracy is usually not as good as it is shooting the slug through a cylinder bore, but may be plenty for your purposes. The only way to tell is to shoot some and see.

Be aware that shooting slugs through a choke tube (smaller than cylinder) might have the effect of "hammer welding" the choke tube in the barrel, making it tougher than normal to remove, its not likely with a limited amount of slug shooting, but it could, and has happened.

Also, its not a good idea to shoot anything through the gun without the choke tube in place. Damage to the threads is a near certainty.

MrDontPlay
March 24, 2011, 11:24 PM
What size is .665?

TheKlawMan
March 24, 2011, 11:42 PM
I believe that is an extra full choke and that I have heard it is too tight for slugs.

stafford
March 25, 2011, 09:06 AM
I have a Winchester SX3 turkey just purchased it have a 24" barrel and a turkey choke that is remove able is it possible to shoot slugs out of that? i just got into shooting so any info would be much appreciated

Dave McC
March 26, 2011, 09:45 PM
Stafford, it's possible but not optimum, probably. Usually slugs work best in open chokes like Cylinder, Skeet, IC,etc.

big al hunter
March 27, 2011, 02:47 AM
what size is .665
That depends on the bore diameter of your shotgun. Most companies follow a standard inside diameter for each gauge, however some use what is called overbored barrels to make the pattern more consistent. Sometimes making the bore sligtly over the standard will relieve pressure in the shot wad creating better patterns. Choke is then adjusted to match the bore diameter. So this means that two different manufactures of the same gauge (one overbored and one standard ) will have different measurements for the same choke rating ie full, mod, or improved. If you are worried about it purchase a cylinder choke for the shotgun you own and use it for the buckshot and slugs. Should run you around 20 bucks. you may also want to see if they have a rifled choke for your model as this may improve the accuracy and allow for the use of sabot slugs. or you could look up the owners manual and check to see if it lists the choke diameter and references the choke rating.

M.O.A.
March 27, 2011, 02:57 AM
its a mav. 88 its not going to have overbore

the .665 is an extrafull and i would not shoot slugs out of it

i would say your 88 is the turkey gun 88 and has the shorter barrel right

MrDontPlay
March 27, 2011, 11:19 AM
I bought a new choke for it that's bigger. Thanks for the help guys.

TheKlawMan
April 14, 2011, 02:42 AM
Well, I am going to run some "rifled slugs" through my 870 tomorrow for the first time. I will be using the short cylinder bore barrel and a 28 incher with a skeet choke.